We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff musty rooms”
Review of El Carmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Carmen Hotel
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great, the staff are curteous and helpful. Breakfast is so handy and tasty....but, and it's a big but... The room we stayed in was incredibly damp and musty, smelled awful and we had to keep our window open with a fan blowing in fresh air all day to prevent the mildew smell from returning. I suspect there are water/moisture issues and it looked as though mold had been painted over on some of the walls...this was one thing but a big thing that would prevent me from returning. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timtamtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LibnyL, Front Office Manager at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2015

We appreciate your comments and have been renovating all of our rooms, we hope you consider coming back and stay in our new Deluxe Rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 226 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here one night and would have loved to stay longer! Right in the heart of the city! Beautiful room! Rooftop views of the city and volcano in the distance! Wonderful breakfast in the morning! Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eventoselcarmen, Front Office Manager at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for tour comment, we hope you can come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights in El Carmen. Some of the hotels in Antigua is super expensive. This one was averagely priced but the room was nice and the breakfast well-exceeded our expectations.

We had a room on the second floor facing the patio. From other trip advisor reviews, these rooms seem to be the better ones. The room was a decent size for us and it was neat and clean. During one of the nights we stayed there, the temperature dropped so I asked for an extra comforter. The staff brought me a nice, heavy comforter in less than 2 minutes.

Every morning, there is a breakfast buffet. During our stay, it was the same every morning but it doesn't need to change. They have a little omelette station and a wide selection of other breakfast food you can select- unlimited.

The staff were very attentive and some can speak English. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again, should we return.

Room Tip: 2nd floor facing the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eventoselcarmen, Front Office Manager at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your comment, we hope you can visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

After three nights in Guatemala City for business, I and a friend who was in Guatemala for the first time went to Antigua for another four nights. I knew my friend enjoyed finer hotels, but I talked him into staying at the El Carmen Hotel, because of it's very fine location, because of it's rooftop with excellent views and tables and chairs for enjoying some conversation and wine, and mostly because of the wonderful staff who have treated me like family for so many times that I have stayed with them. From front desk, to kitchen staff, to the room service people, everyone works together in perfect harmony; they share their friendliness with guests with smiles and greetings and are extremely helpful with all of your concerns. Very affordable, comfortable rooms - though no 5 star, good breakfast in the morning with delicious coffee, and how much more could you want. Best value hotel and it's like being at home away from home! Try it! I really love the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiguaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eventoselcarmen, Front Office Manager at El Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We enjoy having you every year Mr. Ralph you are like family, thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Right in the centre of town this hotel is ideally placed for all the sites in this beautiful city. Lovely central coutyard, the setting for a buffet breakfast. So if you want a lay-in choose a room on the 1st floor or above. The rooftop terrace has a good view of the volcanos and seating and two loungers, a peaceful retreat after sightseeing. Good overhead 'rainwater' shower with hot water. Room a little damp, this hotel allows pets and you could smell them in the room we took.

Room Tip: Off the central coutyard, ground floor if you want a lay-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

loved this hotel which I spent a total of 3 nights in. the staff were helpful and the place is gorgeous. we had a gigantic room with a seating area, a big bathroom and dressing area! the roof terrace is gorgeous with a lovely view of volcano Agua and Antigua- great place to see the sunset and sunrise! The inside seating foyer area is sweet and well kept which nice flowers all around. Wifi works well!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHealy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

If you are a light sleeper don't stay there. Very noisy because poor sound proof. It's only a few blocks from the main square and there is an art market nearby.! There are many eating drinking places within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weishen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
El Carmen Suites
El Carmen Suites
#32 of 75 in Antigua
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#43 of 75 in Antigua
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#29 of 75 in Antigua
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Carmen Hotel

Address: 3a Avenida Norte 9, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $51 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Carmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your El Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing