We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Cristina
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2008

writing this review courtesy of Casa Cristina's free wifi.

basically if your starting ur Guatemala holiday this place is a great start. as cheap as a double room in a hostel but clean, great hot showers and without all the noise u get from the hostel and its bars.

set in a quite area of antigua but close to everything even has a roof to view the city and all its churches.

stayed 3 ngihts and was a great start to our guatemalan holiday. the staff are friendly, the rooms are spotless and its even on a quiet street.

really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pack4Ahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa Cristina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 417 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2008

Casa Cristina is an excellent value in Antigua. I found the owner to be most helpful. This would be a great place to start a trip in Guatemala. The rooms are small but the third floor rooms have a great view. It is in a good central location. Tomas, USA

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tomas417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

This place is incredible! It's location is great, located within a short walking distance of the main square and fantastic restaurants. The hotel itself is clean, quiet and friendly, with knowledgeable staff. Free computer use, and a phenomenal roof top terrace with incredible views of the city and volcanoes! Get a room on the top floor for better city views. We stayed here one night and it was just a terrific value for the location, amenities and price. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it is an economy-style hotel. It's not your fancy Marriott or Hilton, in fact you won't find those in Antigua. But you can't beat the price and accomodations were very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank remaxtravel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Casa Cristina is an excellent value in Antigua. For someone who doesn't want to stay in a noisy and possible dirty hostel, but is still on a budget, stay at Casa Cristina! It's an actual hotel with hot water showers, cable TV, cute decorations and real beds. The owners are helpful, but not overbearing and altogether it was a great experience being there. I spent four nights there and really enjoyed the free Wi-Fi as I was working in Antigua My room was on the bottom floor, on the entranceway and I expected it to be a little loud, but it wasn't bad at all.

I have stayed in a lot of "cheap" places in Antigua that have felt cheap. Casa Cristina takes care to not feel or smell cheap. Everything looks and smells clean. And for $25 a night, it's hard to beat.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kassi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

This hotel is everything it's website promised. Clean, Comfortable and well located. This also matched the majority of reviews on tripadvisor that we had seen before we had left. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are on the small side but cozy and adequate.
The location couldn't be better. Just 1 1/2 blocks from La Merced Church and about 5 or 6 blocks from the central sqaure. A very nice walk.

Reservations are advised, even on the off season. We saw many people stop in looking for a room without reservations and they were turned away.

We paid $40USD per night for a double in room 12. (That is $40 total. per night.....not per person).

Hot water is always on.

Wifi is available in many areas of the hotel, but was sometimes week on the upper floors.

This is a clean and honest small hotel that has a good clientel.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dangoldber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We recently returned from a two week stay at Hotel Casa Cristina in Antigua, Guatemala. The hotel enjoys an excellent location on a quiet street. The proprietors and staff are friendly, efficient, and very willing to help guests in any way possible. While not fancy, the rooms are clean, brightly painted and nicely furnished with Guatemalan handicrafts, and the deluxe rooms have volcano views. There is a lovely terrace on the rooftop with plants and chairs and table. From there one enjoys a spectacular view of the volcanoes surrounding the city, and many of the other buildings. This was a wonderful home base for our family while we attended a language school in Antigua. (The school was located about a block from the hotel). I was encouraged to stay here after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, so wanted to be sure to report back on our good experience there.

2  Thank JAD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Casa Cristina is a little hotel perfectly situated in the center of Antigua. It is less than a five minute walk to the picturesque arch of Santa Catalina. Rosario, the owner is so friendly and pleasant. She's willing to answer any questions you may have and is very helpful. She also has a lovely daughter that works in the office and speaks perfect English, German & Spanish.
We booked one of the deluxe rooms on the top level with a view of the volcano. Unfortunately, it was very cloudy and rainy while we were there and we weren't able to see the volcano. The room is $37 and includes a double bed, nightstand, dresser, armoire, and little bathroom. They have very hot water with excellent water pressure! We returned each day to our room and were given fresh towels and soaps, and the bed was made. If you're into TV, they do have cable television with CNN, MTV and all of the other channels you might be interested in. The only drawback to Casa Cristina is it's proximity to La Iglesia Merced. This is a gorgeous church! But, it is a noisy church! Bells ringing all the time (especially Sunday mornings), fireworks, drums, etc. We really weren't able to sleep in past 8am...But then again, you're in Guatemala. If you are awoken early, walk to Fernando's Kaffee next door and get a cappucino.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EgyptianHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#31 of 75 in Antigua
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.1 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#27 of 75 in Antigua
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Cristina

Address: Callejon Camposeco 3A | between 6 & 7 ave. North, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#13 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#20 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $31 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Casa Cristina. Cozy Bed and Breakfast. All rooms with private bath and hot water. Safe and central location, only 4 blocks from Antigua's Central Park. Our rooms have comfortable beds with white sheets and towels.We have a computer available free to our guest at any time and wireless access for guests traveling with Laptops in most rooms. On our roof-top terrace our guests can enjoy the view of Antigua and our surrounding 3 volcanoes or read a book in the sun (or shade). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cristina Hotel
Casa Cristina Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing