We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfy and hot showers!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Cristina
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Clean comfy and hot showers!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I requested special accommodations and everything was perfect at arrival. Everyone went over and above the call of duty to make us feel at home, laundry cleaned and delivered tot he hotel, assistance arranging transport etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeliaLop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    143
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
34
174
95
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

People complain about the rooms being small. I found them fine. We first stayed in the best rooms and next visit regular room. I found regular rooms on second floor just fine. Having a view of the volcano from a small window is not worth the extra $. Just get on their roof too patio and get your view. Avoid downstairs rooms 1 and 2 as they are close to reception and outside. We had room 7 perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank painnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed here for several nights at the start of my travels in Central America and had intended to move on a after a couple of nights but decided to stay put.
First and foremost, the efficiency and hospitality of Rosario and staff was excellent. I was able to secure my booking via the hotel website before arrival with prompt and detailed communication from Rosario. You get the option to choose rooms and they are listed with details of price and location. Having seen the previous reviews when I was doing a bit of pre- travel research, particularly from "Hopefulist" who has heaps of useful tips (thank you!), I requested a taxi transfer to be pre-booked for me by the hotel as my flight was due to arrive in Guate City late evening. My flight ended up being delayed so I arrived later than anticipated but was delighted to find the patient taxi driver waiting for me - as I had been assured would be the case. Still as a lone traveller on a first visit, the taxi driver put me at my ease and delivered me safely to Casa Cristina.
The rooms are all that I could have wished for in a base to mainly sleep in and made more pleasant by the ease of access to the lovely roof terrace that has breath taking views of several volcanoes - predominantly the majestic Agua which takes on a different personality according to the different cloud arrangements and so I never got bored with it! The terrace is decorated with beautiful plants and flowers and it overlooks other pretty streets and buildings in Antigua including the Merced church. Clean rooms with hot water with great water pressure made for a comfortable stay.
I left Antigua briefly for 2 days and the hotel was kind enough to keep my luggage in safe storage as I changed rooms on my return.
Carlos who covered the hotel in the evening and during night times made sure I got on to my 4 a.m. departure shuttle bus safely when it came outside in the pitch black dark! He was also very patient in my attempts at communication in Spanish which I was on a quest to improve!
Location of the hotel is fine - I was initially worried about walking back from the park area late at night (where some of the good food places are located) but once I got used to to darkness of the city my main safety concern was not tripping over the cobblestones!
I was sad to leave but delighted to have had a great base to start the rest of my travels.

Room Tip: Initially I was in room 11 on the top floor so no view of the volcano but it is so close to the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sim_S120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Small but comfortable room with a nice view of the main Volcano of Water from our room and the skyline of Antigua from the rooftop terrace. The hotel provides free water, tea, coffee and cookies, as well as wifi.

The owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is conveniently located within close walking distance of major attractions and restaurants.

Cons:
The room is very tiny and the bathroom is even tinier. It’s functional but not very comfortable. Like most of the hotels in Antigua, hot water is only available in the shower, not the sink. It has a shower stall crowded into one corner and the water from it splashes under the shower curtain to make a mess on the bathroom floor.

For the same price, I would recommend the Hotel de los Nazarenos, which is right next door and includes breakfast.

For slightly more, try the Merced Hotel just around the corner and connected to the excellent Fernandos Café. The rooms here are bigger and share a small courtyard.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 are good choices. Both have a view of the volcano and easy access to the rooftop ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

What an adorable little hotel! The staff is so kind. There is one gentleman who worked there, I often saw him cleaning the rooms. I didn't get his name as I am not fluent in Spanish but I want to thank him for ALWAYS smiling. What a lovely person!

It was very clean here with crisp white linens. There is free coffee and bread every morning in the reception area. My only complaint is that the fist floor was a but noisy as you have to ring a bell to enter the hotel, and if you're on the fist floor you will here this bell at any hour it might be rang. This is a security measure which I appreciated and a simple pair of earplugs solved the problem.

I highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for something mid-range in price that is clean and comfortable!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The rooms and bathroom are clean and the roof garden is beautiful. You can sit up there and look out over the city to the nearby mountains. Three of us were in a room that was very tight quarters and it did not have an outside window, instead we were awaken each night by folks coming into the adjacent room. Not to cavil, but noise from other guests and the steep stairs could be an issue for some folks. On a more positive note, it feels extremely safe and the proprietors are helpful in arranging transportation from the airport and to Lago Atiitilan. From Casa Cristina you can quickly walk to the center of the city or to any sight you might wish to see, yet the hotel is on a small side street that is itself quiet and neighborly. All these positives plus the reasonable cost make this a good place to stay for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmas_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Try to stay in a bedroom on the second or third floor because the sound of other guests coming and going may disturb you. The rooms are cozy and clean. The staff is great and very helpful. The pricing is reasonable. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #10 which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Cristina

Property: Hotel Casa Cristina
Address: Callejon Camposeco 3A | between 6 & 7 ave. North, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#13 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#20 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Casa Cristina. Cozy Bed and Breakfast. All rooms with private bath and hot water. Safe and central location, only 4 blocks from Antigua's Central Park. Our rooms have comfortable beds with white sheets and towels.We have a computer available free to our guest at any time and wireless access for guests traveling with Laptops in most rooms. On our roof-top terrace our guests can enjoy the view of Antigua and our surrounding 3 volcanoes or read a book in the sun (or shade). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cristina Hotel
Casa Cristina Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing