We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“All around positive experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Cristina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Cristina
Ranked #18 of 80 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All around positive experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My son and I just returned to California from a two week trip in Guatemala. Originally I had planned on spending the first night in Guatemala City and our second and third nights in Antigua at Casa Cristina. I had found Casa Cristina in the Moon travel guide to Guatemala and reserved a room online. However when I started researching shuttles to hotels in GC from the airport I found it was easier just to go directly to Antigua so I contacted Casa Cristina and luckily they had the room available for our first night in Guate. We stayed in room 7, two double beds, on the second floor. The room was clean, as was the entire hotel. The staff was always friendly and helpful. They arranged shuttles, gave restaurant recommendations and directions to places in town. We liked our first few days there so much that we ended up coming back and spent the last three nights there before we headed home. In contrast, we spent one night at a hostel in town on a busy street and although it was $15 cheaper per night it was noisy, the sheet was gossamer thin from having been washed so many times and the shower barely got luke warm. We couldn't wait to get back to Casa Cristina. They also have a nice terrace on the roof where we hung out one night and watched the lightning flashes across the night sky.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omi2x, Owner at Hotel Casa Cristina, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to have you and your son back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    126
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
30
160
85
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Belize
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It´s quiet, safe and clean. When we went to Antigua, we spent the whole day walking around the place, so we just needed a place to rest and shower. The staff is pretty friendly, and we just regret we didn´t have more days to spend at beautiful Antigua. The shuttle pick us up at the door of the hotel to go to the bus station. They also have a little place on top where you can see the Pacaya Volcano, awesome view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omi2x, Owner at Hotel Casa Cristina, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your nice review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay, hopefully you will come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The room was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Get room 11 or 12. The views of the volcano are worth the extra money. The owners are very "gringo friendly" and will provide recommendations of where to eat, what to see, where to get services, and arranged a puesto to Pana for us, rather than have to take the bus to Chimaltenango and then on. I had not been to Antigua for 35 years, so I don't have many places to compare this to, but I would HIGHLY recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: 15 dollars more for the view in 11/12
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanstaafl72555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omi2x, Owner at Hotel Casa Cristina, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Over the course of many trips to Guatemala, I've had the pleasure of staying at Casa Cristina on numerous occasions. I'm not sure there is any better value in Antigua in this price range. The hotel is meticulously maintained and the staff warm, friendly, and obliging. Based on another reviewer's recommendation, I reserved room #6, which is at the front of the hotel and has a window facing the outside. Some rooms have windows that face into the corridor. At first, I thought I might have made a mistake in choosing this particular room in that it might be noisy because it faces the street. However, this proved not to be the case. The property is located on a small street between two avenues and receives very little traffic itself.

Although small, the room contained a double bed, wardrobe, small corner bookshelf and writing table, and TV set. The bed was comfortably firm. Another reviewer wrote about "substandard bathrooms" in Guatemala. If s/he is referring to the lack of a hot water tap in the sink, this is pretty common throughout the country, in hotels, homes and restaurants. However, be assured that there is plenty of hot water and good pressure in the en suite's shower. Also, the hand and bath towels provided are thicker than many I've had at motels in the U.S. that cost twice as much as Casa Cristina. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel with good connectivity and a computer in the small lobby.

The hotel's location close to La Merced Church is a short walk to nearly anywhere in Antigua and is removed just far enough away to avoid the usual city noises. The rooftop terrace, which seems sadly underused, is a perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine and the views of the city and the volcanoes. Breakfast may be obtained just a few doors down at Fernando's Café on the corner and conveniently next door to the hotel is a travel agent from whom you can book a shuttle.

I will have to return to Antigua in about three weeks' time and plan to book this hotel again. When something is this good, why change? Although pure drinking water, coffee and tea are all available 24 hours in the lobby, the only thing that would make Casa Cristina even better is if there were a water carafe and some drinking glasses in the rooms.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room on the ground floor, which could be noisy with guests coming in and out. I was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbcguy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omi2x, Owner at Hotel Casa Cristina, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to have you back soon! Reviews like this make all our efforts worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent a night at Casa Cristina. The room we had was very clean and tidy. The wifi connection was good if you want to get some work done. Make sure to visit the rooftop and look at Antigua and the mountains around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PROSTSnoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omi2x, Propietario at Hotel Casa Cristina, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at Casa Cristina 3 different times as we made Antigua our hub for trips to Tikal, Lake Attitlan, and Chichi. Very clean with great service. Arranged shuttles, helpful with directions, and just plain friendly. A great location for moving about in Antigua (10 minute walk from Parque Central). Rooftop terrace a huge plus for viewing surrounding volcanoes (if the weather cooperates).

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 are prime
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Staff was helpful and friendly for the most part. The shared courtyard areas are beautiful as well as the views of the volcanos. The room was okay and the bathroom was a little less okay (especially in the room we chose I think) but once you realize that even the nice hotels in Guatemala have substandard bathrooms you get over it. The price was agreeable and the location is good, just steps from La Merced Cathedral. There is a great little cafe on the corner of the street (Fernando’s), good coffee and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#43 of 80 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#19 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#24 of 80 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#10 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#8 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Cristina

Property: Hotel Casa Cristina
Address: Callejon Camposeco 3A | between 6 & 7 ave. North, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#13 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#20 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Casa Cristina. Cozy Bed and Breakfast. All rooms with private bath and hot water. Safe and central location, only 4 blocks from Antigua's Central Park. Our rooms have comfortable beds with white sheets and towels.We have a computer available free to our guest at any time and wireless access for guests traveling with Laptops in most rooms. On our roof-top terrace our guests can enjoy the view of Antigua and our surrounding 3 volcanoes or read a book in the sun (or shade). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cristina Hotel
Casa Cristina Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing