We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nicer hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Cristina
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The room was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Get room 11 or 12. The views of the volcano are worth the extra money. The owners are very "gringo friendly" and will provide recommendations of where to eat, what to see, where to get services, and arranged a puesto to Pana for us, rather than have to take the bus to Chimaltenango and then on. I had not been to Antigua for 35 years, so I don't have many places to compare this to, but I would HIGHLY recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: 15 dollars more for the view in 11/12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanstaafl72555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omi2x, Owner at Hotel Casa Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 424 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Over the course of many trips to Guatemala, I've had the pleasure of staying at Casa Cristina on numerous occasions. I'm not sure there is any better value in Antigua in this price range. The hotel is meticulously maintained and the staff warm, friendly, and obliging. Based on another reviewer's recommendation, I reserved room #6, which is at the front of the hotel and has a window facing the outside. Some rooms have windows that face into the corridor. At first, I thought I might have made a mistake in choosing this particular room in that it might be noisy because it faces the street. However, this proved not to be the case. The property is located on a small street between two avenues and receives very little traffic itself.

Although small, the room contained a double bed, wardrobe, small corner bookshelf and writing table, and TV set. The bed was comfortably firm. Another reviewer wrote about "substandard bathrooms" in Guatemala. If s/he is referring to the lack of a hot water tap in the sink, this is pretty common throughout the country, in hotels, homes and restaurants. However, be assured that there is plenty of hot water and good pressure in the en suite's shower. Also, the hand and bath towels provided are thicker than many I've had at motels in the U.S. that cost twice as much as Casa Cristina. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel with good connectivity and a computer in the small lobby.

The hotel's location close to La Merced Church is a short walk to nearly anywhere in Antigua and is removed just far enough away to avoid the usual city noises. The rooftop terrace, which seems sadly underused, is a perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine and the views of the city and the volcanoes. Breakfast may be obtained just a few doors down at Fernando's Café on the corner and conveniently next door to the hotel is a travel agent from whom you can book a shuttle.

I will have to return to Antigua in about three weeks' time and plan to book this hotel again. When something is this good, why change? Although pure drinking water, coffee and tea are all available 24 hours in the lobby, the only thing that would make Casa Cristina even better is if there were a water carafe and some drinking glasses in the rooms.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room on the ground floor, which could be noisy with guests coming in and out. I was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbcguy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omi2x, Owner at Hotel Casa Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to have you back soon! Reviews like this make all our efforts worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent a night at Casa Cristina. The room we had was very clean and tidy. The wifi connection was good if you want to get some work done. Make sure to visit the rooftop and look at Antigua and the mountains around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PROSTSnoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omi2x, Propietario at Hotel Casa Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your nice review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at Casa Cristina 3 different times as we made Antigua our hub for trips to Tikal, Lake Attitlan, and Chichi. Very clean with great service. Arranged shuttles, helpful with directions, and just plain friendly. A great location for moving about in Antigua (10 minute walk from Parque Central). Rooftop terrace a huge plus for viewing surrounding volcanoes (if the weather cooperates).

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 are prime
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Staff was helpful and friendly for the most part. The shared courtyard areas are beautiful as well as the views of the volcanos. The room was okay and the bathroom was a little less okay (especially in the room we chose I think) but once you realize that even the nice hotels in Guatemala have substandard bathrooms you get over it. The price was agreeable and the location is good, just steps from La Merced Cathedral. There is a great little cafe on the corner of the street (Fernando’s), good coffee and breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed once more in casa cristina while in la antigua and am always surprised at the consistency in the running of this hotel. Clean rooms, fresh towels daily, perfect functioning WIFI in every room I stayed and the owner, Dona Rosario (speaking Spanish, English French and German!), and her team always going out of their ways to make their guests feel well and at home from home and offering an abundance of help and advice.
Free coffee,tea and hot water all day long!
The roof terrace with view of the vulcanos is a great place to relax and meet fellow guests !
Great location just half a block from la Merced and Calle del Arco and about 5 blocks from the main Plaza del Parque.
I will always return to this wonderful hotel where price/value is one of the very best I found in my travels around Central and South America.
Muchas gracias Rosario y su equipo!

Room Tip: If you want to have a great view choose the two rooms which view the vulcano La Agua on the 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martina_de_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights when we got to Antigua and then again after being at Lake Atitlan. Both times we found the hotel and rooms clean with good hot water. The room size is not large and with two backpacks there wasn't a lot of room. There was also no fan and the rooms got very stuffy with not much air flow. The bedding was clean and comfortable but the pillows are not great. It can be noisy around 4am when people leave for volcano excursions and the set up of the hotel means this noise echoes around all the rooms. There is free wifi and a computer you can use downstairs for free. The free water filling is great and saves adding more empty water bottles to the environment so bring a reusable water bottle. Free coffee, tea and baked goods were also available in the mornings. Roof top terrace a nice spot to relax. Staff seemed friendly and helpful. Overall it was clean, safe and convenient for our trip,

Room Tip: Do not chose the room on the bottom floor or by the stairs. You will wake early when people leave o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#6 of 75 in Antigua
330 reviews
0 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#25 of 75 in Antigua
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 75 in Antigua
433 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#12 of 75 in Antigua
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Cristina

Address: Callejon Camposeco 3A | between 6 & 7 ave. North, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#13 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#14 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $31 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Casa Cristina. Cozy Bed and Breakfast. All rooms with private bath and hot water. Safe and central location, only 4 blocks from Antigua's Central Park. Our rooms have comfortable beds with white sheets and towels.We have a computer available free to our guest at any time and wireless access for guests traveling with Laptops in most rooms. On our roof-top terrace our guests can enjoy the view of Antigua and our surrounding 3 volcanoes or read a book in the sun (or shade). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cristina Hotel
Casa Cristina Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing