We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Encantada
Nearby Hotels
$207
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Rafael Hotel(Antigua)
$125
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Porta Hotel Antigua(Antigua)
$145
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$119
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$157
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
232
52
14
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
52
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporta hotelrooftop terracesister hotelthe living room areaboutique hotelporta antiguanoise from the streetbuffet breakfastsmall hotelhuge bathroomlounge chairsfive minute walkcomfortable bedspent nightssurrounding volcanoeswe loved our staystaff was very friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 303 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great experience, great location, beautifully decorated, wonderful staff... the name says it all it is truly enchanting. With so many options in Antigua this is definitely a place to come back to. This beautiful house truly resembles what this great city is all about.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Casa Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Gabriel A,

We are so glad we have been part of a wonderful experience at La Antigua Guatemala for you. It will be a pleasure to be your hosts again.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Casa Encantada is a gem of a find. This small, charming casa embodies class in a laid back manner. Everyone that works at the hotel is lovely. The beds, with the best pillows I've ever slept on, will lure you into a dreamland like non other.
Maria Augustina will serve you with the most delightful of genuine smiles.
In a nutshell, Casa Encantada will welcome you and make you feel very special. I will definitely come back to this home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoEllen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Casa Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear happygoluckyjo,

Thank you so much for sharing such a delightful review with us, we hope to see you again around here very soon.

Sincerely,

Fernando Ximénez-Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A perfect setting, hidden from the street: with only ten rooms, all tastefully decorated - and very few other guests during our 3-nights' stay - it felt as relaxing and peaceful as home away from home.
The staff were so friendly and obliging and gave us a complimentary upgrade to a delightful quiet [albeit small] back room [because there was renovation work being done to the room we'd booked].
The rooftop patio was ideal for evening drinks, followed by delicious dinner brought over from the parent Porta Hotel - the chicken in papilotte is a personal favourite. And the [included] breakfasts were a superb start to a day exploring this delightful city.
The plunge pool is admittedly only good for cooling off but, if it's exercise you need, the receptionist will tell you all about the Porta Hotel's larger pool you can use at no charge, a short walk away.
One stormy night, without us asking, the sitting room fire was lit when it turned cool, and candles lit. We felt very spoilt and safe and charmed by this romantic 'boutique' hotel.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ActiveKiwis60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Casa Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

We are so glad you liked "Casa Encantada", and we really appreciate you recommend us to our future visitors that read this review in Trip Advisor.

You are more than welcome to come back soon.

Regards,

Fernando Ximénez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Casa Encantada offers a comfortable, inviting stay, like staying in somebody's very nice house complete with cozy living room area. Rooms are small but well appointed and the breakfast included gave good, delicious options. A good deal overall and walking distance to the sites. BUT. If you are traveling on business you should know there is no on-site restaurant after breakfast and the WIFI is not reliable in the rooms. Need to go to the living room area to get a strong signal. This needs to be fixed because, even for vacationers, who doesn't travel without some device relying on WIFI these days? Ignore where it says there is a pool. It is the size of a fountain. Others complained of noise but my room was facing the street and it was not a problem. Very friendly, helpful staff. Overall worth a try.

Room Tip: Try to get courtyard room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RC A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Casa Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear RC A,

Thank you for this nice review.

We are working hard to solve the issues with WiFi in the rooms, so in the near future, this will not be an issue anymore.

Warm wishes to you and your family back home!

Fernando Ximénez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our three-day stay at Casa Encantada. All the workers we interacted with were really sweet and helpful. It is about a five block walk to the center of town but we never felt threatened at all, and we were walking past 10:00 p.m. some nights. It just didn’t seem worth it to take a cab.

The décor of the inn is fascinating--all kinds of art objects everywhere you turn, many of a Catholic bent, which is in keeping with this colonial city. The bedroom had everything you would expect, including a nice flat-screen TV that offered a few English channels.

One point about the noise factor. Be sure to keep the wooden shutters closed if noise bothers you. Our room was facing the street and when the shutters were open it was really noisy (buses pulling up right outside our room, dogs barking, etc.), but when we closed the shutters we didn’t hear anything.

The breakfast was unusually good. Just sit down in the main reception area when you are ready for breakfast and they will bring a menu. Everything was delicious. Note it can get crowded if there a lot of people there. It was raining during our visit so the outside eating spaces were not available. If one more party had come in at the same time, I’m not sure what they would have done.

We had a great time at Casa Encantada and would absolutely stay there again if we return to Antigua.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank shario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando X, Gerente at Casa Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear shario,

I am so glad to read such a glowing review, you encourage our team to continue providing an amazing service for every visitor.

Warm wishes,

Fernando Ximénez-Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews