We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean, quiet location in Antigua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Florencia Hotel
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Super clean, quiet location in Antigua”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Casa Florencia is run by two sisters who maintain the highest standards of cleanliness. This little hotel is near the Merced Church, so a few blocks from the main square, but the walk is worth the quiet. None of the rooms face the street, so there is no noise of cars rumbling over cobblestones. The upstairs rooms have a common balcony for relaxing and enjoying the view. The downstairs rooms are a bit dark, but still pleasant, with a nice fountain and seating area to enjoy outside the rooms.

Room Tip: Upstairs a bit more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mckavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    89
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
44
153
62
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The Casa Florencia may be a little far away from the centre of Antigua for some but for us peace and quiet loving types, it was perfect.

Our room was a little on the small size and we had to be careful of the potentially dangerous little step up into the bathroom in the middle of the night but these are minor issues.

The place defines the expression "scrupulously clean", the staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating and we even had a nice view of Vulcan Agua from our upstairs room.

Of the staff we met, only the night porter spoke English, so make sure your Spanish skills are up to date - although my rudimentary level seemed to suffice.

You'd be pressed to find better value in Antigua.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I love this hotel and the owners. Patricia is amazingly helpful and keeps the place spotless. I have enjoyed staying in this hotel many times and this past visit was even better now that they have a little coffee shop next door where they offer complementary breakfasts for their guests. Estelle, who runs the coffee shop, is sweet, gracious,and efficient and makes a great breakfast. The homemade breads and muffins are awesome, especially the apple bread. The shower was fantastic....very hot water plus lots of pressure. When I walk into the rooms at Casa Florencia, I just feel like I never want to leave. I stayed on the second floor which has a wonderful balcony with a view that I love to come back to. Every stay is better than the last as they continually upgrade the hotel to meet the needs of their visitors. I highly recommend this hotel. It's the best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerich0girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

everything was good. a very good place. nice and clean and very good breakfast whit very good coffee. that you also can by a package off. very good/friendly and helpfull stuff.
only problem is the price. but if you not on i tight budget, this is a perfect place to stay. hot whater and two blankets in the bed if you get cold at night.. nice view over volcán de agua from the second floor. I can recoment this place for everybody, young or old. you gona like your staying here...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfw_snoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times since I first visited Antigua in 2002. I have looked at other hotels and seen that this hotel is one of the best at any price. First, I am amazed at the cleanliness of the hotel. The owners are fanatical about keeping it clean and dust-free. Second they have continually upgraded the facilities. There is now wi-fi throughout the hotel, new flat-screen TVs, cable, and the possibility of taking an inexpensive, complete breakfast there. The rooms are very comfortable, with a very nice bathroom and shower that also has recently been upgraded. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, always ready to make suggestions of find tourist agency, doctor or any kind of services if you need them. The view from the second floor of the rooftops of Antigua and looking out at volcanoes that surround Antigua is breathtaking. The location is good, too, because it is out of the noisy area of the center of town, and there lots of great restaurants and coffee shops nearby. I strongly recommend this hotel to any visitor.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms on the second floor to have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anthro101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have stayed at the Casa Florencia many times in our annual trip to Antigua. It is still excellently maintained as consistently as it was the first time we stayed there. The staff is gracious. The walk to the Plaza is a 5 - 7 minute walk.
This year we found that a coffee shop had been added next door. Breakfast is gratis for the patrons. The lattes were my favorite. Sandwiches are on the menu for lunch and satisfy hunger if one doesn't want a full meal in the middle of the day.

Room Tip: The second floor has a lovely view of one of the major volcanoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalinoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencia/Antigua, Owner at Casa Florencia Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay at Casa Florencia Hotel!

We were delighted to read your positive comments concerning our new coffee shop “Me Late Café.” Estela, our Barista, puts a lot of effort and dedication into preparing excellent coffees and we are thankful for having her as part of our team!

We appreciate your repeat visits and look forward to welcoming your groups in the near future.

Casa Florencia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The rooms are very clean and small but nicely styled. However it is about 4 blocks too far away from the center and the breakfast is awful and mean - only edible because it is free. Owners can also be a little commanding, which is their choice when it is with their staff but strange when they act this way to their clients.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imparare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencia/Antigua, Owner at Casa Florencia Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for pointing out the positive views relating your experience. We do take pride in the cleanliness of our Hotel!
We are sorry to read that your other comments were not so positive. The majority of our guests have complimented our breakfast and service. We regret that it did not meet your expectations.
We are constantly looking for ways to improve upon our guests' experience and welcome any suggestions.
Kindly
Casa Florencia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#10 of 75 in Antigua
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Florencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Florencia Hotel

Property: Casa Florencia Hotel
Address: 7a. Av. Norte # 100, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Antigua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#15 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Florencia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated seven blocks north of the Central Plaza, our hotel is within short walking distance to coffee shops, restaurants, handicraft markets and archeological sites of interest. Our first floor rooms open to a serene verdant garden, while second story rooms provide panoramic views of three distant volcanoes. Free parking subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Florencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Florencia
Casa Florencia Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing