We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy. Far. No credit cards.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Florencia Hotel
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having been to Antigua over 20 times for work and vacation, I've stayed in many different places. Casa Florencia was the biggest let-down to date.

To its credit- it is clean and well-maintained. Otherwise it is average at best. Compared to similarly priced locations, however, it is rather far from the park and the rooms are smaller than average. The two huge problems though are the noise (and I'm a sound sleeper) and the fact that it is cash only.

Even $10 a night hostels take credit cards. This is a problem for 2 reasons: first, cash is difficult for reimbursement purposes, and secondly, tourists should not be carrying around large amounts of cash in Guatemala.

The noise was the worst I have experienced in Antigua. At night there was a very loud bar and in the morning the church bells are very loud. No where in Antigua is perfect at this price point, but even I was surprised at just how noisy it was.

I'm not sure if the management had changed or if they were out of town, but I was decidedly underwhelmed with my experience.

Overall I would recommend looking somewhere a little more centrally located that takes credit cards. In the end I had to apologize to the group I took to Casa Florencia because it was a bad choice on my part. I'm not sure what to make of their trip advisor rating, but it didn't match my experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel4funandwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencia/Antigua, Owner at Casa Florencia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

In response to the review posted on Trip Advisor, the following are important for future guests to consider.

1) It has been and will remain to be the policy of the hotel to accept payment in cash currency of either US Dollars or Guatemalan Quetzales. When reservations are made and again upon check-in, it is clearly communicated that the first night's lodging is due upon arrival and payment is required in cash. We accept neither credit cards nor traveler's or personal checks. The cost of maintaining credit card transactions would result in the hotel having to increase the room rates to cover the fees and payment delays that are associated with credit card companies. Invoices and receipts for payments are provided at the appropriate time as payment transactions are completed. If payment is made upon arrival and daily thereafter, it avoids the need to carry large sums of cash. Deposits to our bank account may be made through prior arrangement particularly for large groups or extended stays.

2) The hotel management has been working closely with the Guatemalan and International authorities regarding excessive noise, pollution and disturbances within Antigua, a World Heritage City. To date, the hotel management has been given recognition for taking a leading role in promoting regulations regarding noise from bars, clubs and parties. The situation in question resulted from a large party/concert that took place several blocks from the hotel and over 20 other places were as affected by the high volume of noise. If the authorities refuse to enforce the laws, certainly the hotel cannot be expected to control such matters any more than we can control the weather.

3) The sounds of the church bells coming from the cathedrals can be heard throughout Antigua. Our hotel is situated about 2 blocks from La Merced Cathedral, one of the historic colonial period churches in Antigua. The religious history dating from the 1500's is part of the archeological attractions of Antigua. Certainly, most tourists coming to Antigua do so to experience this rich culture. In fact, the proximity to La Merced Cathedral is highlighted on our web site with the expectation that guests will appreciate this experience.

4) The management of the hotel has neither changed nor was absent. Our policies have been consistent and we strive to provide the highest quality lodging experience within our means, both in price and service.

Casa Florencia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Casa Florencia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 411 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Casa Florencia, our favorite, reasonably priced, friendly, scrupulously clean hotel in Antigua, has outdone itself again. They have added a lovely adjoining coffee shop, Me Late Cafe, where an included breakfast is now served daily. Me Late Cafe also offers tasty sandwiches, bakery goods and gourmet coffee all day long on most days. And, there was another lovely surprise: built-in study desks on the second floor balcony where one can study or write in view of the volcanoes. As always, Casa Florencia has firm beds, flat screen TVs, free WiFi and in-room lock boxes. It is secure and only a 10 minute walk from the central park. We are sending pictures of the coffee shop and one of the desks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SusanneWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We just completed our third stay at this lovely hotel in Antigua. The rooms are always attractive, immaculate, and very comfortable, while the staff is very helpful and friendly. I recommend a second floor room as the view overlooking the volcano Agua is beautiful. They now include a full breakfast which was excellent: eggs freshly prepared for you, toast, banana bread, fruit and coffee. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Antigua.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snickers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As a member of the Dentistry For All team that has travelled to Guatemala for many years, we again had the pleasure of residing at the Casa Florencia Hotel. The hotel continues to offer great rooms, exceptionally clean and outstanding attention to quests needs. This year they have opened a breakfast lunch cafe next door and it has a very cheery bright atmosphere, with great coffee and meals. Hats off to Patricia and her staff for a most welcoming feeling while staying at Casa Florencia.
Rod

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is quaint, and has excellent staff. It is spotless with towels, toiletries, television and much more. Those staying upstairs have a view of the volcano Agua from their door. Breakfast at the weekend is excellent value for money. The location is ideal and in a quiet spot just five minutes walk from la merced church. Friendly staff make the stay welcoming. Value for money. I would go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kingt86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I absolutely love Casa Florencia! I've been traveling to Guatemala for over 25 years and Casa Florencia is my favorite place to stay in Antigua. It's a small hotel about 10 minutes away from the Central Square -- the perfect distance to all the attractions but without all the hustle and bustle. Casa Florencia boasts a spectacular view of the volcanos from the second floor. The rooms are comfortable with firm beds, quality furniture, a ceiling fan and modern bathroom. What I love most about Casa Florencia is how clean it is. You can eat off the floors in this hotel! The staff is friendly too. They know their guests by first name and go out of their way to make you comfortable while you are away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We enjoyed Casa Florencia hotel very much- The rooms are very clean and comfortable, breakfast is very nice (includes in the weekend prices) and staff are very nice.
Casa Florencia is located 10 minutes walk from the main area, but the weather usually very nice and the streets are colorful and beautiful, so this walk is really great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moranshanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#4 of 75 in Antigua
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#23 of 75 in Antigua
301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#26 of 75 in Antigua
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#11 of 75 in Antigua
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Florencia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Florencia Hotel

Address: 7a. Av. Norte # 100, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Antigua
#8 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#15 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $52 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Florencia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated seven blocks north of the Central Plaza, our hotel is within short walking distance to coffee shops, restaurants, handicraft markets and archeological sites of interest. Our first floor rooms open to a serene verdant garden, while second story rooms provide panoramic views of three distant volcanoes. Free parking subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Florencia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Florencia
Casa Florencia Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing