We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a happy three weeks at Posada La Merced!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada La Merced Antigua
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Salem OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a happy three weeks at Posada La Merced!”
Reviewed February 27, 2007

Posada La Merced is easily the most memorable hotel I've stayed in, largely because of the friendly, helpful, cheerful staff. The place is always scrupulously clean and full of flowers and colorful weavings. From the rooftop views to the tranquil back patio to the more lively front patio, Posada La Merced glows with a vibrant beauty.

Gail and her staff are happy to arrange shuttles, tuk-tuks, tours to ruins or volcanoes, give directions to nearby laundries, restaurants and internet cafes, and sell inexpensive snacks and beverages, as well as providing free coffee nearly around the clock.

One bonus is the full kitchen for storing snacks and takeout or cooking full meals. Another is the proximity of Fernando's, voted the best coffee house in Antigua, where the trivia game on Saturday evening draws locals and tourists for a lively competition and light dinner.

The prices are low, the location is great, and I can't imagine a nicer place to stay.

  • Liked — Cleaniliness, security, helpful staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank filbert_farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    119
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
41
71
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2006

They have great location: 1 block away from Iglesia de La Merced, 2 blocks away from Calle del Arco (5 Av. Norte) where all the nice restaurants are (Frida's, Sangre, Vinos y Quesos), Great pubs (Reilley's, Casbah...)

The staff is really friendly, the rooms are impecable, really nice garden with wild orchids hanging out, beautiful terrace with columpios to take sun and the nicest pictures.

The coffe is free in the morning and you can use the fully equipped kitchen to cook your own dinner. They sell sanwiches and snacks in the reception area.

They have a proyect that does beautiful earrings!!!

  • Liked — Location, price and the staff
  • Disliked — it's always full... call for reservation
  • Tips/Secrets — If you go to Antigua, you'll fall in love with the town...
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ppereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
813 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2006

We have stayed here for the past five years (at least once or twice during the year) and will return again this summer.

The location is great; friendly staff, and at night, candles light the way to your room. Try to book a room in the back courtyard - a special place - fragrant garden, hammocks, nearby kitchen to brew coffee, rooms decorated with Guatemalan textiles.

The view from the rooftop is awesome - all of Antigua and the volcanos are before you.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2006

We've happily stayed at Posada la Merced several times in 2003 and 2005, our home-away-from-home in Antigua Guatemala. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, the rooms are small but immaculate and very cost-effective, the locale is quaint, and the best coffee and breakfast in town are right next door. Be there for Semana Santa (Holy Week) -- you can look down on the processions from the 2nd floor balcony, and you may be invited to help build alfombres (flower carpets) in the road. At any time of year, you're just around the corner from the splendid La Merced Church, and only a short walk from the Parque Central in the heart of town, or from the thriving mercado. We expect to be back there soon!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank k0k0peli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2005

Stayed at this hotel for two non-consecutive nights. The hotel owner and her staff were incredibly helpful and booked our trip overnight trip to Tikal. While we were gone, we were able to store our bags at the hotel free of charge.

The atmosphere of the hotel is great as well. The common areas are beautiful and there are several hammocks through the courtyard.

Although the hotel is not in the center of town, the location is great. It's very close to La Merced and it was nice to be a little off the main strip because it was quieter.

I'd definitely recommend staying at the hotel. And be sure to talk to the hotel owner. She's a great source of information.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravellingHoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.7 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#9 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#30 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#52 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#15 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Merced Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Merced Antigua

Property: Posada La Merced Antigua
Address: 7a Avenida Norte # 43, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#22 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Posada La Merced Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Merced Antigua Hotel Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing