We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best service wonderful location friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada La Merced Antigua
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I called Posada La Merced 2 days prior to arriving in Guatamala City by air and they were able to have a driver pick me up at the airport . He found me as I was coming out on the sidewalk. He held up a sign with my name on it. Being a single woman, traveling late at night, it was a big relief. The driver took me to the hotel and was most courteous. All of the staff at Posada are so nice. I will go back again. Their rooms are small but immaculate and you cannot beat the friendly bilingual staff. Fernando's Coffee bar a few steps away from their front door is perfect for breakfast, lunch and internet surfing if you have your own laptop, but, Posada has a free computer for guests to use to surf the net.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gizzy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 307 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2010

I just returned from a 2 week travel study to Guatemala, and we spent our entire stay at Posada La Merced. The staff was incredible. Just can't say enough how helpful they were for a bunch of students who spoke very little Spanish. Safe, secure, and superb!

Rooms were small, but the service more than makes up for any minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xandercage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

This is my fourth trip to Antigua, Guatemala. I am a professor who leads travel study courses and the Posada La Merced is the ONLY place we will stay. The rooms are inexpensive, clean, and comfortable. The staff is absolutely exemplary - friendly, prompt, and helpful. Gerlinde, the owner, is experienced in booking tourist travel, speaks fluent English and German, and is endlessly patient and helpful. This hotel has become my second home, the staff like family. I can't say enough good things about it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrCyndiBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I love the Posada La Merced! I have stayed there numerous times in the last 4 years and will continue to stay in this hotel only when I am in Antigua. One time my plane arrived at about 10pm and the hotel arranged for a shuttle to pick me up at the airport. They give great service and are so welcoming. It is close to the main park and arch. Nothing fancy but extremely clean and like I said I feel very safe and secure there when I am traveling alone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kare345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

It took me a great many years to find a place in Antigua I really liked. I had stayed over noisy bars,places where kids rode bikes in the hall. places that turned out all the outside lights and left you beating on the door in the dark and the worst was some place where cell phones rang all night long and other guests then screaming into them. Then there were the places that smelled of mold. So Posada La Merced was not expensive, quiet and very clean so I keep returning and I really enjoyed the helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Took refuge here from a very noisy hotel. Very friendly staff. Perfect location, very secure.
Excellent Fernando's Kaffee next door for fresh coffee (Fernando is a chocolatier), wifi & fine Sunday breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 033010a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

I stayed the last night of my 2009 visit to the highlands of Guatemala at Posada La Merced with a group of 13 fellow educators in tow. We were very pleased with the small, nicely appointed rooms, the helpful staff, and the overall charm and ambience of the place. The location, a block west of the La Merced church and a few doors down from Fernando's Café is wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#25 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa Cristina
Hotel Casa Cristina
#17 of 75 in Antigua
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#47 of 75 in Antigua
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#16 of 75 in Antigua
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Merced Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Merced Antigua

Address: 7a Avenida Norte # 43, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#16 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $38 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Posada La Merced Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Merced Antigua Hotel Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing