We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada La Merced Antigua
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Like most of the places in Antigua this hotel is pretty, as the city itself. The staff spoke English very well and had good knowledge about the city. I had to get some extra room at the last minute and they sorted something in their sister hotel next door. If you have a large group, you can book the courtyard in the cafe next door. There is no restaurant on site, but Antigua has thousands of them everywhere. The main square is about 10mn walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Distenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 303 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

The staff was very accommodation when my traveling companions had to change rooms for a firmer bed. We were very happy with our room. It's not fancy, but a good value and well-located. The courtyards have beautiful flowers. There is ample wi-fi in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanvpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed twice in this hotel in May 2014-rooms 3 and 32. Both rooms were clean and nice. They have two courtyards on the first floor, which are quiet, and filled with plants-very nice. The staff was knowledgable about Antigua, helpfull and spoke english well.

Some negatives on room 32- the shower in room 32 sprayed all over the place, the window louvres would not open all the way, the main window in the room open to the hall way (which could get loud), the lock on the inside of the bathroom did not work. The city view from this room was nice.

Note: as with many places in developing countries, it is not advisable to drink the tap water, you cannot flush the toilet paper, no AC. None of this bothered me, it is just something to get used to when traveling.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALtraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here in July of last year. This is a very well maintained, inexpensive hotel. It's very comfortable and clean. The staff are very friendly. And, like others are saying, the restaurant next door is a great place to eat. The view from the roof is amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Posada La Merced Antigua is a casual, charming hotel with welcoming staff. It offers a good value and a great location. My first floor room was inviting and comfy after a late night arrival from Guatemala City’s airport. A few steps from the hotel is a great restaurant with coffee and breakfast that I’m still thinking about. A great treat for an early morning’s start.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

A wonderful place to stay. Gorgeous courtyard space inside, fantastic breakfast place next door. Amazing coffee, great friendly service and very good value for money...need I say more......Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrainneBDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The place is clean and nice. But depending on the guests can be very noisy. Is close to Calle del Arco and La Merced Church. So It has a good location.

They have coffee and tea for the guests. Also there is hot water.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancyboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#28 of 75 in Antigua
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#27 of 75 in Antigua
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Cristina
Hotel Casa Cristina
#18 of 75 in Antigua
420 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#12 of 75 in Antigua
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Merced Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Merced Antigua

Address: 7a Avenida Norte # 43, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#22 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $48 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Posada La Merced Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Merced Antigua Hotel Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing