We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently a wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada La Merced Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada La Merced Antigua
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
278 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Consistently a wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

This little hotel never disappoints me. It is consistently a wonderful place for business or pleasure. The owner (Gail) and the staff are wonderful. I got really sick one day while there and I had enough care to see me through the next time I get ill! They helped me celebrate a birthday and are generous in spirit. I will keep returning to this hotel, again and again and again.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank maimutzacelmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    117
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
38
71
56
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

My Girfriend (now fiancee!) and I stayed at the beautiful pousada as our first stop in Gautemala. They offer a very useful pick up service from the airport.

The rooms are very clean and the pousada is very well located.

What made the stay so special was how amazing the owner of the pousada was.(Gail) She helped us organise a lot of our trip after this stop. She is a very experienced tour guide in central america and knows her stuff! The staff of the pousada are also very well trained and extremely helpful. She actually helped us organise our trip to Tikal, Chichi, and many other places. (and she was not making commission, this was because she really enjoyed to help us out)

What was also very useful was that we were able to leave our luggage at the pousada when we arranged a 4 day trip to other places. This meant we could take small packs and leave our big bags at the pousada.

If you are looking for a good priced, well located, sweet pousada then this is where you have to stay. We were delighted with our stay here and if we were ever to return to Antigua we would not think twice of where to stay because it would be here!

  • Liked — Location and helpful staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank adamgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2008

A charming, low-key inn, Posada La Merced is a friendly and inexpensive choice in Antigua. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the garden atmosphere in the main areas were quite lovely. There is also free wireless internet and a kitchen to accomodate long-term and/or short-term needs. The rooms are small, but the bathrooms are TINY (Our sink and mirror were literally inside the shower). Location was pretty accessible to anywhere else in Antigua, which is definitely a walking town. On the whole, I'm not sure I'd stay there again ( I'd be willing to pay a little more to get a little more,) but this is not a bad choice if you know what to expect.

  • Liked — Staff and Location
  • Disliked — Overall room and bathroom
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank treasuresgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2008

I was lucky enough to be dropped off here years ago when I was helping with a humanitarian mission. Since then I have stayed there many times--all with fantastic results.

I have found the front desk people to be as helpful as any hotel including multi-star hotels. The hotel is more of a home when helping the guests and I have never been refused of any request.

The grounds are spotless and the rooms are seriously cleaned daily.

I will be there again this year if that tells you how highly I think of the place.

[-]

  • Liked — people
  • Disliked — everything was great
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brucerub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2007

The Posada was booked for our group ( just finished a mission trip) for a long weekend, as the group had stayed there a year before. Not having a great deal of experience with accomodations in Guatemala, I have to say that the Posada was a lovely surprise. The neighborhood is not that great, but it is not far from the market, several cathedrals and the central park square. It was scrupulously clean, pleasantly furnished and peaceful. The rooftop "garden" was a lovely spot for morning coffee, or city-gazing at night. My only complaint was the size of the rooms, and especially the bathroom- very limited space!

  • Liked — coffee on the rooftop in the morning
  • Disliked — teeny bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momma-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2007

As a single woman traveling with a 17 month old baby, I need to feel secure and welcomed wherever I stay. We both loved Posada La Merced. The staff was incredibly sweet and helpful, the gardens are beautiful, it is close to everything you need in Antigua.....oh and did I mention how baby friendly it was......well, I'll mention it again......my son felt very happy there. They had all the ammenities, baby bath tub, even bed rails. How children are treated says a lot about a place. Posada Merced has a huge heart.

  • Liked — felt like home
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gilmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

I like the following:
1. Friendly and helpful staff.
2. Proximity to "downtown".
3. Safe for a solo female traveler.
4. Clean rooms and bathrooms.
5. Reasonably priced.

I didn't care for the following:
1. Noise level of guests in the kitchen, eating outside, etc. I think quiet hours ought to be posted and enforced.
2. The request for a kitchen use donation.
3. The lack of ventilation in the room.
4. Mosquitos.
5. Old mattress.

I also took some mountain biking, hiking, and kayaking trips with Old Town Outfitters. Great fun! www.bikeguatemala.com

La Casa del Mundo in Jabalito (Lake Atitlan) is a must.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#43 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#10 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#28 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
14.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#55 of 82 in Antigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada La Merced Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada La Merced Antigua

Property: Posada La Merced Antigua
Address: 7a Avenida Norte # 43, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#22 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada La Merced Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Merced Antigua Hotel Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing