We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, cheap accomodation.”
Review of Hostal Onvisa

Hostal Onvisa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Onvisa
Ranked #76 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, cheap accomodation.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were staying in Antigua for a week to do a Spanish class and found onvisa the cheapest accomodation and included a private bathroom. The room was clean and very spacious. There was a little kitchen that was very handy to cook in. They also have a beautiful and friendly dog, that always had a wagging tail on your return. We found the travel agency a little pricey in comparison to other agency's prices so didn't book anything through them. But for good, cheap, clean accomodation, we couldn't fault it. Louis was also very friendly and helpful and good to practice your Spanish with!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
8
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown Ky.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This has to be the worst shuttle service in Guatemala! After 22 years of volunteer service and many shuttles this is the worst service of all. We were picked up by one shuttle an then taken to the office of ONVISA at that time and place loaded in to a shuttle of weary travelers. We sat waiting in the van for over 45min just to leave. The dispatcher was mean and hateful and used profanity with one of the other guests in the van. Once we left, en route to GUATEMALA CITY airport, we had 6 drops for a total of 2.5 hours for a ride that should normally take 35-45 min.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ever16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Antigua hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We were 4 nights here and totaly satisfacted. The rooms are basic but clean and it had a very good shower to wash long hair:-)! Luis was always very helpfull and we were happy with all our booked tours and transfers. We compared the prices with other travel agencies and they were the same. Would recommend to stay here if you are looking for a basic, well priced acommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locita1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arranged several tours and used their shuttle service, during and after each one of their service we felt unsecure and disappointed. To mention a few examples: 1. Our shuttle to the airport was 45 min late (we never got an explanation and when we asked for our money back they denied it). 2. Most of their drivers had unresponsible behavior on its drive (overspeed, no respect of the transit law, treat their passengers as animals), no friendly at all, never on time. 3. They told us that we will summit the Pacaya Volcano, the company stopped summiting the volcano several years ago. 4. One of our tours supposed to provide tipical breakfast and we ended arguying with one of the staff members for an hour before they tooked us to the cheappest place around to give us the cheappest guatemalan breakfast. The worst of dealing with this company is that they do not care about their clients, they care about their profit and they will do any thing to accomodate their needs (ex: having us waitng for 45 min to have an extra passenger that was coming later). Really, we would not recommend this company to any body!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
14.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#64 of 75 in Antigua
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#44 of 75 in Antigua
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#51 of 75 in Antigua
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#40 of 75 in Antigua
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 109 in Antigua
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Onvisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Onvisa

Property: Hostal Onvisa
Address: 6a Calle Poniente 40, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing