We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem in Antigua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The San Rafael Hotel
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I had the privileged to stay at this stunning hotel in the very centre of Antigua for 3 nights beginnings of July and it was an unforgettable experience. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the friendly stuff and shown into a large room very tactfully decorated with high ceilings, a 4 poster bed and a really stylish bathroom. The hotel although built in traditional style had all the mid cons and the Internet was the fastest we experienced during our trip through Central America. The breakfast was delicious and really tastefully arranged in the lovely patio outside our room. I would recommend San Rafael strongly to anyone visiting Antigua and looking for a beautiful peaceful boutique hotel to stay! Although it's located bang in the town venter the moment you walk through the front gate you step into a calm environment where you can enjoy the beautiful rooms and tranquil gardens and if you're looking for something more lively it's right at your doorstep outside of the hotel! Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonminna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for The San Rafael Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 292 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a quiet hotel with less than a dozen rooms. It is very peaceful though located in the heart of Antigua. It has been tastefully decorated and is extremely secure. The staff are all very friendly and professional. I stayed nearly 2 weeks and there wasn't one screaming baby.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaVidaRubia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Due to our upcoming busy schedule, my wife and I are writing this review before we leave. We have to say the only thing we do not like is we cannot stay longer!

The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, we were treated like royalty! No question or concern was left unanswered or fulfilled.

The overall location is like a hidden treasure away from the busy streets, with very nice decorations and beautiful plants and flowers.

The included breakfast was quite the surprise! We were expecting a typical basic American-ish breakfast of bagels and make your own waffels. Wrong! Full service and fancy breakfast with a waiter is what greeted us at our choice of well decorated tables! Also, the cook must be a master chef and artist because the food was so nicely prepared!

All in all, NO complaints and ALL praises to top shelf service. We really recommend you stay here if you have the opportunity!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2 so can only speak for it. It is very cozy and ideal for a couple looking for a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcs82512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I spent 3 nights at the San Rafael in June, it was like staying in a travel magazine. Everything was great, from the driver who picked me up at the airport, to the friendly staff, to the ideal location, to the amazing breakfasts. (Breakfasts get 5 Stars. Amazing.)

For my first 2 days I think I was the only guest in the hotel, this was simultaneously incredible (to have the WHOLE PLACE to myself) and humbling. Like, "did you really like 50 candles around the courtyard just for me?"

I stayed in Room 6. It was exactly as pictured on the website. While it was great I don't think I'd stay in that one again, pretty sure it was the smallest of all the rooms. But the bed was comfy and I really enjoyed the rainfall shower.

Location-wise, you're a half block from the arch and within 2 blocks of several very good restaurants. What I loved about the location was I could wander around until I got tired and then slide back to the hotel for a little R&R.

Overall: An exceptional small hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 5, 6, and 7 are in the rear of the hotel. They are more private. But each room has it's ow...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mclanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The photos look good and reality lives up to expectation. This hotel is exquisite and each of the seven suites are unique and thoughtfully designed. Staff are exceptionally helpful without being overly attentive and will organise transfers, tours band in room massage (which was lovely) via email in advance. Breakfasts are included and quality, and sitting in the tranquil courtyard is a delight. Location is very central to the main attractions such as La Mecred and the key shops and ruins. Made for an unforgettable trip! Ask at reception to check out the roof top view of the Agua volcano on a clear day! Would have loved to stay longer or return!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite further from the main courtyard if very concerned re potential for noise. No noise w...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I'm currently sitting in the courtyard of this hotel waiting for breakfast the morning of our checkout. The beauty of this hotel is quite literally breathtaking. The service is exceptional. The breakfast is brought to a table just outside if your room in the open courtyard and is served with freshly squeezed orange juice. The rooms are spotless and to say they're well appointed wouldn't do them justice. Chandeliers and fireplaces and down duvets and windows that over look fountains. This is truly a place not to be missed.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Gerente at The San Rafael Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you Gina P for your comment, which encourage us to give all of our guest a great service.

We are looking forward to have you as our guest again

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I have to tell you that I chose this hotel based on reviews from TripAdvisor. We haven't even gone on our trip yet, but their service has been outstanding! Claudia Morales in reservations has been my primary contact there. She booked our room, made arrangements for a car from the airport and now has assured me that our daughter may leave her luggage safely with them as she arrives before we do. Their replies are timely too. I cannot wait to see the actual hotel very soon!

Room Tip: I will update as soon as we return from our trip.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Eve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.2 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#4 of 75 in Antigua
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Rafael Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Rafael Hotel

Address: 2da Calle Poniente No. 7, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $138 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Rafael Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Rafael, which opens following a three-year restoration, incorporates the remains of an early structure significantly altered in the nineteenth century. The recent restoration preserves the form of a grand, traditional colonial home with its brick, stone and stucco construction; two courtyards; antique tile roofs; and three water features (including a dramatic wall fountain). Besides the furnished patio where one can enjoy a leisurely breakfast while gazing over the garden, guests will appreciate the elegant and lofty sitting and dining room, the perfect space in which to sip a glass of wine, sit before a roaring fire, or catch up on emails and correspondence. Entering through the gates of the San Rafael, visitors enjoy a sweeping view of the first courtyard with its two fountains and richly varied plantings: Italian cypresses, ficus trees, and the colorful blossoms of native plants. The hotel office and reception are conveniently located off the entry vestibule, where newly arriving guests will be greeted with a welcome beverage, and hotel residents may seek advice on touring the city, securing reservations at Antigua's finest restaurants, or making arrangements for a private excursion. Breakfast is a special occasion here, guests enjoying it while seated around the courtyard or in the dining room. For those fond of coffee or tea upon awakening, and before sitting down to breakfast, complimentary self-serve beverages are available in the courtyard each morning. The breakfast menu includes traditional offerings as well as a rotating array of special dishes. Breakfast is served between the hours of 7:00am and 10:30am weekdays, 11:00am weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The San Rafael Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing