We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, Atmosphere, Location and MORE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The San Rafael Hotel
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I am absolutely in love with San Rafael! I am staying here now as I type this- just in awe of the service of the people here and the level of detail in the beauty of the deign and atmosphere. We are strategically located right by the famous arch and just steps away from Central Parque.

My favorite clothing store to shop in in Antigua (I shop there every time I'm in town) is just around the corner- Shooga- so that's dangerous but convenient :).

The room is just gorgeous with a fire place and king size bed, and beautiful high ceilings and design. The bathroom and shower are to die for, and the details for the furniture design are rustic and beautiful!

Not to mention the fresh flowers they have here in my room as well as the welcome drinks they brought me. Also, the breakfast served in the morning was so much more than I ever expected. I was sure I would have a simple continental breakfast but it was a first class meal, with many options from Signature poached eggs with pesto and deliciously flavored hash browns, homemade jams and rustic bread, fresh fruit and yogurt with homemade granola and honey, and DELICIOUS Guatemalan Coffee.

I'm staying in Room No. 7. Outside my door is a beautiful courtyard with a fountain pool and chairs, so I can sit outside and sip coffee- wifi works throughout the place, so that is nice as well. And the people here are truly at your service.

I am in heaven and WILL be back!! Thank you San Rafael! :)

Room Tip: I'm in Room No. 7, which is a King Suite away from the street with a beautiful private courtyard...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for The San Rafael Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 292 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

My mother, sister and I traveled for 10 days in the western highlands of Guatemala in January. We had the most wonderful experience staying at the San Rafael Hotel in Antigua. The staff are exceptional, especially Claudia and Julia the manager, who were very friendly, accommodating and attentive to our needs. We loved our gorgeous and spacious suite with a fireplace which we used during the cool winter nights. Every detail of the superbly renovated hotel from the artwork, design and interior decor is beautiful and of high quality. The breakfast was delicious, particularly the hotel special with pesto poached eggs, tomatoes and black bean hash brown potatoes. The hotel’s location is central to the main cultural highlights of the town. We also had the pleasure of meeting two of the charming owners, Wayne and Ray, who are from the northeast USA. We highly recommend this hotel to the discerning traveler.

Room Tip: Since there were three of us, we stayed in the large suite with two queen size beds which was more t...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLeora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

If you've been to Antigua Guatemala, you know there are many hotel options to choose from, and, depending on when you go, you also know that it can be really hard to find a room! That was the case when I needed to spend a night in February while on a business trip. I am so glad San Rafael had a couple of rooms for my colleague and I. The recently-renovated hacienda style building is absolutely stunning. The rooms are luxurious, with astonishing beds, bathrooms, and a fireplace! They've thought of every detail during the renovation and decoration. You will feel pampered, no matter which room you end up in. The hotel is small and excellently located. We had the pleasure of being welcomed by Claudia, a very warm and accommodating staff member. When she saw how tall my colleague was, she felt bad that his room had a standard full-size bed and asked her boss if she could upgrade my colleague a better room with a bigger bed. She did, and it was at no additional cost. We also needed to leave earlier than breakfast time next day, and Claudia went out of her way to make sure the cook could set us up with coffee, pastries, and fruit before our departure. It was an overall amazing experience. I wish I could have stayed there all week!

Room Tip: If Claudia is working, ask for her.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordanjc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Gerente at The San Rafael Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Mr. Jordan jc2

Thank you for your comment !

We are very glad that you have enjoyed our staff member´s service and your stay at the hotel, for us is very important that our guests feel at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

On a recent trip, we had the opportunity to stay in this beautiful hotel in downtown Antigua, Guatemala. Following a complete renovation, San Rafael offers an amazing experience. Exquisitely furnished and filled with a combination of pre-colombian and modern art, you will feel pampered by the staff and its owners. With wonderful, bright rooms and excellent service, this hotel also offers conference space and a large roof-top terrace overlooking Antigua for your business or personal pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

No doubt the best place to stay in Antigua. The warm staff, the absolutely luxurious rooms (with fireplaces), the beautiful garden and delicious breakfast, all exceeded my expectations. The rooms are meticulous, beautifully decorated and beds are the comfiest I've ever slept in. The owners and the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. This hotel does not disappoint!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 717claired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The San Rafael, despite its having been open for less than a year, is one of the most beautiful small hotels we've stayed at anywhere in the world. I don't doubt it will soon be recognized as the top boutique hotel in Antigua. From the moment you walk through the front gate -- which is located mere steps from Antigua's iconic arch -- you are greeted warmly by the highly professional staff and are offered a cold drink. The two courtyards boast gurgling Spanish colonial fountains and lush landscaping, along with an eclectic display of antique and modern art and furnishings. The rooms are just spectacular, and include a wonderful daily breakfast, chosen from among several choices on a menu. The coffee and orange juice (freshly squeezed) are especially good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was my 10th year to visit Antigua and loved staying at the hotel San Rafael. This is at the top of small, charming and beautiful places to stay. The staff and owner made us feel as if we were guests in their own beautiful home. We loved sitting in the garden and having our delicious breakfast on the patio. The rooms are spacious and luxurious with the most comfortable beds. There are so many lovely sights in Antigua and this 7 room hotel is in an excellent location. I would just second all the excellent reviews already written about the San Rafael. I would add that the San Rafael has some of the nice features of a hotel such as limited but excellent meal and bar service yet has all the charm and warmth of the nicest inn or B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPC4102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Gerente at The San Rafael Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

We want to say thank you for staying with us, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you with us in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.2 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#4 of 75 in Antigua
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Rafael Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Rafael Hotel

Address: 2da Calle Poniente No. 7, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $138 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Rafael Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Rafael, which opens following a three-year restoration, incorporates the remains of an early structure significantly altered in the nineteenth century. The recent restoration preserves the form of a grand, traditional colonial home with its brick, stone and stucco construction; two courtyards; antique tile roofs; and three water features (including a dramatic wall fountain). Besides the furnished patio where one can enjoy a leisurely breakfast while gazing over the garden, guests will appreciate the elegant and lofty sitting and dining room, the perfect space in which to sip a glass of wine, sit before a roaring fire, or catch up on emails and correspondence. Entering through the gates of the San Rafael, visitors enjoy a sweeping view of the first courtyard with its two fountains and richly varied plantings: Italian cypresses, ficus trees, and the colorful blossoms of native plants. The hotel office and reception are conveniently located off the entry vestibule, where newly arriving guests will be greeted with a welcome beverage, and hotel residents may seek advice on touring the city, securing reservations at Antigua's finest restaurants, or making arrangements for a private excursion. Breakfast is a special occasion here, guests enjoying it while seated around the courtyard or in the dining room. For those fond of coffee or tea upon awakening, and before sitting down to breakfast, complimentary self-serve beverages are available in the courtyard each morning. The breakfast menu includes traditional offerings as well as a rotating array of special dishes. Breakfast is served between the hours of 7:00am and 10:30am weekdays, 11:00am weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The San Rafael Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing