We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The San Rafael Hotel
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“AMAZING hotel!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

No doubt the best place to stay in Antigua. The warm staff, the absolutely luxurious rooms (with fireplaces), the beautiful garden and delicious breakfast, all exceeded my expectations. The rooms are meticulous, beautifully decorated and beds are the comfiest I've ever slept in. The owners and the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. This hotel does not disappoint!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 717claired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
142
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The San Rafael, despite its having been open for less than a year, is one of the most beautiful small hotels we've stayed at anywhere in the world. I don't doubt it will soon be recognized as the top boutique hotel in Antigua. From the moment you walk through the front gate -- which is located mere steps from Antigua's iconic arch -- you are greeted warmly by the highly professional staff and are offered a cold drink. The two courtyards boast gurgling Spanish colonial fountains and lush landscaping, along with an eclectic display of antique and modern art and furnishings. The rooms are just spectacular, and include a wonderful daily breakfast, chosen from among several choices on a menu. The coffee and orange juice (freshly squeezed) are especially good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was my 10th year to visit Antigua and loved staying at the hotel San Rafael. This is at the top of small, charming and beautiful places to stay. The staff and owner made us feel as if we were guests in their own beautiful home. We loved sitting in the garden and having our delicious breakfast on the patio. The rooms are spacious and luxurious with the most comfortable beds. There are so many lovely sights in Antigua and this 7 room hotel is in an excellent location. I would just second all the excellent reviews already written about the San Rafael. I would add that the San Rafael has some of the nice features of a hotel such as limited but excellent meal and bar service yet has all the charm and warmth of the nicest inn or B&B.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPC4102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Gerente at The San Rafael Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to say thank you for staying with us, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you with us in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hotel San Rafael is beautiful - beautiful rooms, gardens, and patios. The hotel is a sea of tranquility in the midst of a beautiful, colonial town at the foot of a picturesque volcano. The staff could not have been more helpful or attentive, and the food we were served at breakfast and our group dinner, was beautifully prepared, served, and seasoned! I highly recommend Hotel San Rafel to anyone looking for a beautiful, quiet, and comfortable hotel in which to relax while in Antigua.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Gerente at The San Rafael Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to say thank you for staying with us, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you with us in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a late flight in and drove straight from Antigua in the middle of the night. The beautiful courtyard took our breath away. During the later part of my week in Antigua, I stayed at another (and supposedly a more luxurious) hotel, which didn't even compare. We wished we had stayed in San Rafael the entire time. The room, with it's vaulted ceiling, pretty chandelier, and striking fireplace, was large and spacious (I stayed in room 4). The bathroom had local ceramic tile and sink and was beautifully renovated. Daily breakfast was included in the rate with a table right outside our room.

The location was central and just about near to everything. The toiletries were of great quality, as was the staff's service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The San Rafael is a new hotel near the Santa Catalina Arch in Antigua. In designing and decorating the hotel, the owners have paid attention to every detail. I stayed there with a small group and each room we had was more luxurious than the next. Each featured a super-comfortable bed, a fireplace, wonderful soaps, etc. Breakfast is served outside on the beautifully decorated patios. The staff is very accommodating and seemed to be always available. While called a hotel, the style of the place is much more like a bed and breakfast. I can't wait to return and stay a bit longer next time.

Room Tip: All rooms open to walkways around the patios. I guess it could be noisy, but I did not hear much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Incredible hotel and wonderful staff. This converted mansion has been restored to perfection. The rooms are beautiful and spotless and the courtyard is an oasis in Antigua. A perfect location just off the main square and walking distance to everything. The little extras show that they really care about their guests. A thank you to each and every staff member who made our stay even more memorable, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celtictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.2 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 76 in Antigua
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 76 in Antigua
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 76 in Antigua
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#6 of 76 in Antigua
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Rafael Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Rafael Hotel

Property: The San Rafael Hotel
Address: 2da Calle Poniente No. 7, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Rafael Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Rafael, which opens following a three-year restoration, incorporates the remains of an early structure significantly altered in the nineteenth century. The recent restoration preserves the form of a grand, traditional colonial home with its brick, stone and stucco construction; two courtyards; antique tile roofs; and three water features (including a dramatic wall fountain). Besides the furnished patio where one can enjoy a leisurely breakfast while gazing over the garden, guests will appreciate the elegant and lofty sitting and dining room, the perfect space in which to sip a glass of wine, sit before a roaring fire, or catch up on emails and correspondence. Entering through the gates of the San Rafael, visitors enjoy a sweeping view of the first courtyard with its two fountains and richly varied plantings: Italian cypresses, ficus trees, and the colorful blossoms of native plants. The hotel office and reception are conveniently located off the entry vestibule, where newly arriving guests will be greeted with a welcome beverage, and hotel residents may seek advice on touring the city, securing reservations at Antigua's finest restaurants, or making arrangements for a private excursion. Breakfast is a special occasion here, guests enjoying it while seated around the courtyard or in the dining room. For those fond of coffee or tea upon awakening, and before sitting down to breakfast, complimentary self-serve beverages are available in the courtyard each morning. The breakfast menu includes traditional offerings as well as a rotating array of special dishes. Breakfast is served between the hours of 7:00am and 10:30am weekdays, 11:00am weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The San Rafael Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing