We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing hostel with helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacia El Sur Hostal
Ranked #24 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for a full week in a private room. Overall the rooms were very clean. The staff was very good as well. I returned very late multiple nights and the staff was both friendly and professional. Although there weren't many people there when I went, I was quickly able to meet other travelers outside of the hostel. The location is also on two major streets, well lit and safe for tourists. Breakfast was alright. The staff additionally was very adept at understanding English. Overall, I would stay again if I were in Antigua.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 130 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

had some friends staying there, they loved it, clean room, breakfast included, clean shower with hot water, located in a quiet but lively part of town, bars and restaurants are close by! the hostal is family owned and they are always there to help in the best way they can; price is very affordable, is a good place to set as base camp for exploring the town!

Room Tip: get private rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gustavoEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at Hacia El Sur for a few weeks and was very pleased with everything about it. It was very clean, the breakfast was delicious and the staff was so kind and helpful! I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skunkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a nice new little hostel just a
few blocks from Park Central.

Nice new beds and a great selection
of rooms.

Private bathroomsand a sala where
all the guests can mingle.

Friendly staff.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillermo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hacia El Sure is a new hostel located
on Primera Avenida Sur 15 below
Cafe Sky.

The owner Francisco is always on
site and is friendly and accommodating
to his clients.

There are a variety of room choices including
many with there own washroom.

Prices are great. There is a shared
kitchen for the guests where you can
get to know travellers from around the world.

Nice and clean...nice and confortable

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Francisco has just recently open and is daily making improvements and all for the better;
Fluent in english he goes out of his way to accommodate, very knowledgable, his family is great
and also very helpful; Antigua has many attractions out of the bustle and hustle of big city;
A great place to unwind or rest up for the next leg of you journey, I had intended to stay 3 days and stayed 3 weeks.
While visiting if you need something, just ask and Frisco will help you find it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank littleclarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here 1 night but thought this was a great place to stay - clean, a very comfy bed, spacious dorm room with lockers, a delicious choice of breakfasts included in the price, a nice garden at the back plus an indoor social area and nice friendly owners. In short, a great place to stay and I would go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.0 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#63 of 75 in Antigua
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#27 of 75 in Antigua
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#11 of 118 in Antigua
529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#49 of 75 in Antigua
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacia El Sur Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacia El Sur Hostal

Address: Avenida Sur 1 | Casa No. 15. Primer Nivel de Cafe Sky, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: $12 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Hacia El SurWe opened our doors in 2012, an idea born of three brothers from Guatemala City. Our vibe is very laid back and inviting for our international guests.We have high speed free wifi, laundry service on site (& a clothes line) as well as a TV and DVD player for movie nights!There are all new beds, fresh clean and cozy new bedding. Private rooms or shared dorms. There's a ping pong table and lounge to relax in and large back garden courtyard, buy a beer, listen to the birds, meet other travelers - do as you please. We have a selection of 8 different breakfasts to enjoy everyday from 7:00 to 10:30. Of course we serve Guatemalan coffee too! Come to Cafe Divino, our breakfast, lunch and dinner bar with a menu of smoothies to burgers and beer and cocktails too.Conveniently at the front of our building is a tour company, bike rental and bike tour service as well as a shuttle booking service that picks you up right at the door. Very much appreciated when your departure is at 4 am! Things to know :*Check in at 1pm and check out at 11am.* All rooms have lockers to store your valubles.* Padlocks are available with a Q50 deposit or use your own.* Our front gate is locked at 10:00PM, but our night security guard is here to let you in and out 24 hours a day. The lights are mostly turned out at also at 10:00 for those needing rest , but feel free to take your group to our back garden or to a nearby bar for some socializing.* NOTE: there is a doorbell to alert the security guard to get in after 10:00. Please do not bang on the gate as it will wake other guests. * Parking area: at the rear of our property we have space for camper vans and some tents. Shower facilities, toilets and meals are available in the hostel for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing