We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not miss!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Santo Domingo

Casa Santo Domingo
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.98*
and up
Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City
Ranked #1 of 80 things to do in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brugherio, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Do not miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The place is awesome and the way they have recovered it is amazing. We have visited it with a guided tour of the city with Elizabeth Bell.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matteo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    204
    45
    10
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WPB
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can I Rate This A 10?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Was there for a wedding. BREATHTAKINGLY BEAUTIFUL around every corner. An old monastery turned into a 5 star hotel - full of history, and those 'little touches' that , quite frankly, you don't find in the US.

Traveler Tip: Don't wear sandals. Roads are cobblestone, so you'll want amazing footwear (tennis shoes is probably the best)

Hotel has no air conditioning in rooms - this seems gross, but the temp at nights usually dips fairly low ( 40's while I was there in Feb) so an open window is the perfect air conditioner.

Take every tour they offer (seriously). Well worth the money, and you don't be sorry.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The crypt was very cool”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Actually, we liked that the best. Skeletal remains placed behind glass. Cool! Thenruinsnthemselves are beautifu. The shops onsite are expensive, as you'd expect. There's also a small museum onsite, and their current exhibition was enjoyable. Macaws all around the place. Pretty grounds. Nice break from the town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank evieao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is actually a hotel, built around ruins with several small but wonderful museums. They were setting up for a wedding when i was there, which tells you something about how nice the place is.

You do not need to be a guest in the hotel to enter and look around, but if you are looking for a romantic place to stay in Antigua, this is it.

It is a great place to spend an afternoon, and don't forget to stop by the museums for some local history.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Solecito_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Unique Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

First of all, if you come to Antigua and don't plan on spending at least a few hours at Casa Santa Domingo, you'll have missed one of the more interesting places you will ever visit. You don't have to stay at the hotel, though I hear that is spectacular also. We were able to wander the grounds which are exquisite, then we paid about $10 for both of us to see the ruins area, which has some fantastic things to see. I only wish we had been able to eat at the restaurant there, if we had another day, we would certainly do it. Don't miss this one!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EdGoingSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Santo Domingo also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing