We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied”
Review of Izakaya

Izakaya
Ranked #32 of 371 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Izakaya is a Japanese Sake Establishment which also serves food to accompany the drinks. Enticing Oriental Appetizers with a tropical twist, creating a fusion between guatemalan and asian flavors. Fine cuisine prepared in an open kitchen, by reknown chefs with an international trajectory, which includes Nobu, Zuma & Gordon Ramsay in London. Cozy atmosphere and great music.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Satisfied”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We love Asian Fusion food and our favorite is in
Guatemala City named Ilkura.

We went to Izakaya because of the description in TR
written by the establishment.

In comparison to our favorite, Izakaya is a solid 3 star
experience.

The menu includes 15 items. We had a corn soup which
very good. We then shared two tapas. One with lomito and
the other was ribs. The meat on both item was very tender.

In both cases the balance between the sauces and the meat
was out of balance. All you could taste was the sauces, not
the beautiful tender meat smotherd by it.

Presentation was below average as there was no adorno or
anything to make the plate look entising. The 5 ribs placed in
the middle of a tapa plate looked sad.

The ambiance is not beyond basic from the wooden chairs
and white walls.

Prices are OK. Q390 for 2 glasses of wine and the three
dishes we tried.

Service is OK too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    24
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were four and shared some plates between us.

Overall concensus is its good but not great. The shrimps were
the best of the lot. Prices are on the high side for tapa sized plates.

Serviice was good but maybe they could mnile once and a while.
The atmosphere is plain and stark no matter where you sit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the bests in Antigua!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Izakaya is one the best restaurants I've been in Antigua Guatemala. You not only get excellent food but also the nicest service. The chefs explain you the concept, the name and the recommendations. We had shrimps, aubergines (eggplants) and a carpaccio. All the dishes were prepared with fresh food and had a great presentation. You definitely get more than just a good dinner, you get a great Japanese experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariviBriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Antigua”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I ate at this restaurant for a second and it was amazing as usual. I am not sure how anybody can complain about the food at Izakaya. Possibly i beleive these people have no idea what fresh, fusion Japanese food is. The Tiradito is wonderful but the mushroom skewers were to die for!! My date this time was one of the best!! I recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for Japanese food in Antigua - the food and owners are of an international caliber! Flavors are full and everything is fresh!! Buen Provecho!!

Helpful?
Thank Mayk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Charming Place”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We ate here on our first night in Antigua. We had read some reviews, that recommended this restaurant highly. It is small and consists of only about 8-10 tables. The young lady who owns the place with the chef came over and made us feel very welcome. She explained every dish to us. To our group the food was wonderful. The tastes of the various small plates made us want more. We came back a second time and had all of the dishes that we didn't have on our first visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izakaya B, Propietario at Izakaya, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
I just want to say.. Thanks for coming here!
We are so glad you enjoyed it!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izakaya also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing