We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Restaurant in Antigua”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Izakaya

Izakaya
Ranked #30 of 355 Restaurants in Antigua
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Izakaya is a Japanese Sake Establishment which also serves food to accompany the drinks. Enticing Oriental Appetizers with a tropical twist, creating a fusion between guatemalan and asian flavors. Fine cuisine prepared in an open kitchen, by reknown chefs with an international trajectory, which includes Nobu, Zuma & Gordon Ramsay in London. Cozy atmosphere and great music.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Antigua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I ate at this restaurant for a second and it was amazing as usual. I am not sure how anybody can complain about the food at Izakaya. Possibly i beleive these people have no idea what fresh, fusion Japanese food is. The Tiradito is wonderful but the mushroom skewers were to die for!! My date this time was one of the best!! I recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for Japanese food in Antigua - the food and owners are of an international caliber! Flavors are full and everything is fresh!! Buen Provecho!!

Helpful?
Thank Mayk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    24
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Charming Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We ate here on our first night in Antigua. We had read some reviews, that recommended this restaurant highly. It is small and consists of only about 8-10 tables. The young lady who owns the place with the chef came over and made us feel very welcome. She explained every dish to us. To our group the food was wonderful. The tastes of the various small plates made us want more. We came back a second time and had all of the dishes that we didn't have on our first visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izakaya B, Propietario at Izakaya, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
I just want to say.. Thanks for coming here!
We are so glad you enjoyed it!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK dining at a price!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were underwrlmed especially after reading the
description of the restaurant in Trip Advisor.

Coming from thr city we have many choices of Japanese
restaurants and find a much larger selection of items at much
more reasonable prices.

The presentation of the plates are quite nice but after that
the food no more than averge even as compared to the three
or four other choices in town.

Prices are a little high for the tapa size dishes. But, if we were
in the area we would not hesitate to stop by again.

The ambiamce is nice and the restauarnt is spotless.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izakaya B, Director de Recepción at Izakaya, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
There are many Japanase Restaurants in Antigua & Guatemala City, is true!... But we are an Izakaya. There are many Izakayas in Japan, We are the first in Guatemala. And This restaurnat can not be compare to the other Japaneses in town, cause we cook ROBATA style, which is the traditional japanese way of grilling veggies, chicken, meat or ribs. No one else is doing this king of kitchen around here. It is a simple menu and always shared. I am really sorry you didn't enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

A lovely cozy restaurant with the best Asian Fusion food I have ever tried!! The Chefs are not only amazing but so friendly and the service is great. The price is really good. There are so many delicious flavors in the food that you will want to come back many times. Definitely my favorite restaurant not only in Antigua, but in all of Guatemala!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Phenomenally mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Dined here with my girlfriend looking for a taste of Asia as a break from Central American cuisine. Izakaya offered tapas ideal for two people consisting of a variety of Japanese fusion dishes. Expecting a flavourful experience, I was disappointed by the mediocrity of the food. While I did enjoy the seared Mahi Mahi, the sashimi-like fish dish and corn/chicken soup were below par. As a connoisseur of Asian cuisine the food was average at best and was quite expensive. Other positives included good service, wifi, and nice decor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Partridge33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izakaya also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing