We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I was looking for”
Review of Izakaya

Izakaya
Ranked #31 of 375 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Izakaya is a Japanese Sake Establishment which also serves food to accompany the drinks. Enticing Oriental Appetizers with a tropical twist, creating a fusion between guatemalan and asian flavors. Fine cuisine prepared in an open kitchen, by reknown chefs with an international trajectory, which includes Nobu, Zuma & Gordon Ramsay in London. Cozy atmosphere and great music.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What I was looking for”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I wanted romantic, sharing, good food, interaction with chefs/owners... I found all of that at the kitchen bar where we tried almost all the menu. Even though bad time with date, it was enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank Mayk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    25
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were in ANtigua for a conference this week and couple of us
ventured to Izakaya. Both of us were disappointed especially
after we had been to a couple other Asian/Japanes restaurants
in ANtigua.

The Mahi Mahi did not taste fresh. The ceviche was average at best
and the portion size was very small. The other couple dishes we tried
were OK at best.

The decor is nice and so is the service. We felt the value was poor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izakaya B, Propietario at Izakaya, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I am sorry but this time I am not taking this comment. Fisrt of all we where closed for some days. Days that you said you were here. The customers that came, are regulars. People that I know.
And about the Mahi Mahi. Sorry here always FRESH fish, coming everyday to the restaurant. We order small amount, we don't like frozen fish. And when I don't sell it ..I eat my self! ... I would like the tripadvisor team to make a research about your comment! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique taste! fusion of oriental and guatemalan flavors.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Tiradito beef is the best on the menu. Great place to share with family and/or friends. Love it! Can't wait to return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spolancok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Doesn{t Cut It!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Im not sure why this place is getting good reviews when it is mediocre.
We love cool places, good food and don't mind paying for quality but
Izakaya is our least favorite Asian/Japanese restaurant in Antigua.

Service was slow, After trying three types of appetizers we decided to
leave. The food was so mediocre and for the price it wasn't worth it. We
love aian food and this just won't cut it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
“Delicious and Different!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The food at Izakaya is completely different and unique to what you usually find in Guatemala. The flavors are delicious and the portions are ok in order to share and try the different variety in the menu. The owners are experienced chef`s and have great personality, which make the environment more pleasant. You can also view the chef´s while they cook in their unique kitchen space:) Can`t wait to visit you again. Congratulations!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ch0fis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izakaya also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing