We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carrot curry soap? Yes please.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michos

Michos
Ranked #53 of 344 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, International, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Michos is recommended by the New York Times in 36 hours in Antigua! It is where the food is Local, Fresh and most importantly Creative! A great place to come with friends and enjoy the creative foods and creative cocktails. Great wine selections as well! Home of the Avocado Margarita!
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Carrot curry soap? Yes please.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Another outstanding meal at Michos! One of the courses involved in our tasting was the Carrot soup. Absolutely delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    33
    13
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Worst Restaurant in Antigua”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Had my worst experience yesterday in this restaurant, very poor food quality, carrots soup, vegetarian plate, tratare steak, octopus carpaccio and vegetarian sandwich all plates deficient and returned back.. On top very expensive (without eating since plates were returned back) Usd 100, as consequence of the deficient food had stomach illness.
Antiguas gastronomical authorities should closed this very "bad named" restaurant. Elieser Castellanos - personalmaritimo@gmail.com

Helpful?
Thank Elieser C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMicho, Owner at Michos, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Sorry that your experience at Michos was not what you hoped for. We do understand that our plates are creative and inventive and sometimes not to the liking of those looking for more conventional dining. However i must take exception with a few of your statements. It is not true that you had to pay for plates you did not like. Once it came to our awareness that you were not pleased we attempted to address that with you and we offered to get you more food. You agreed and we brought out new plates to go. You had the choice to get more food or leave and you chose more food. The main plates you rejected were deducted from your bill. Again we understand that some people may not like creative cuisine and it is a bit different. However the complaint on the vegetarian plate and the soup has not been one we have heard in the past 12 months. Other customers ate the same food that night and no one else got sick or sent it back to the kitchen. I understand completely that the experience was not to your liking but as you recall i attempted to make all adjustments possible to satisfy you. Certainly if one looks through the other reviews we have had this one is not the norm. Sorry for your experience, but we do accept that we are not able to be the type of restaurant everyone will like. Modern cuisine challenges and and sometimes takes people outside their comfort zone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Best dining experience in Guatemala - hands down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We have lived in Guatemala for over 3 years and love dining in Antigua. We were reintroduced to Michos when it reopened back in February and were blown away. To say the food was creative is an understatement. This is more than dinner - it's an amazing experience! I am from one of the best eating cities in North America and can say Michos is as good or better than anywhere I can eat at home. This doesn't even account for the amazing hospitality of Chris and Neil and their staff. We plan our Antigua weekends around dining at Michos and recommend them to anyone heading that way. Great job guys and thank you for such amazing experiences!

Helpful?
Thank KatharineKmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMicho, Owner at Michos, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your review of Michos! We are delighted that you enjoy the creativity in our dishes as we know for some people this type of creativity is challenging! Thanks for dining with us and we look forward to having you again in the future! We definitely will keep working hard to come up with new and interesting dishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food; Good Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

the food at Micho's is always excellent. There are salads and sandwiches and plates with small but tasty morsels of meat. For true decadence, try their Macaroni and Cheese. It is incredible and worth every gram of fat! The owner and chef are very present to their guests and very welcoming. Often there is good local (not típico) music.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Had the steak sandwich and a veggie dish whose name I can't recall. Everything was superb and the price was right. Service was also spot on. Definitely recommend you check it out!

Helpful?
Thank mrmld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMicho, Owner at Michos, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for dining with us at Michos and thank your for your review! So very glad you enjoyed both steak sandwich and the very creative vegetarian plate! Hope to see you next time your are in Antigua!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michos also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Michos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing