We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Michos

Michos
Ranked #61 of 370 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Michos is recommended by the New York Times in 36 hours in Antigua! It is where the food is Local, Fresh and most importantly Creative! A great place to come with friends and enjoy the creative foods and creative cocktails. Great wine selections as well! Home of the Avocado Margarita!
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Had the steak sandwich and a veggie dish whose name I can't recall. Everything was superb and the price was right. Service was also spot on. Definitely recommend you check it out!

Helpful?
Thank mrmld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMicho, Owner at Michos, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for dining with us at Michos and thank your for your review! So very glad you enjoyed both steak sandwich and the very creative vegetarian plate! Hope to see you next time your are in Antigua!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    35
    13
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pound Ridge, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely, worth a visit.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had great cocktails here and a lovely dinner with great service. I highly recommend it. Mango Margarita....yummy. Nice wines too. We chose from the tapas menu. The eggplant humus, the lamb sliders, the blue cheese, the octopus and the pork tacos. All extremely tasty.......We ate outside on the back patio which was a lovely setting and quiet. Another night we had drinks in the bar area which has great ambience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimbers1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMicho, Owner at Michos, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting Michos twice while on your vacation. We are delighted you had a great experience and we hope we contributed to you have a wonderful time in Guatemala!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Atitlan
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Original dishes served with a flair”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The menu is interesting and offers a unique take on each of the dishes. From the lamb sliders to the coconut shrimp to the grilled steak; all served perfectly. The french fried sweet potatoes are delish. Great wine list at decent prices. The bathrooms are really cool too!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMicho, Owner at Michos, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We are very very happy you enjoyed your dining experience at Michos! The chef and his staff really strive to be creative, but in a way that never compromises on taste! We hope to see you on your next visit to Antigua!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service disaster”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went a couple weekends ago and sat in the garden area.
There were only the two of us at somewhere arounf 5 PM on a
Saturday afternoon.

Service was poor...very poor. There were two gentlemen behind the bar
debating some sort of entires in a ledger while our waitress was also behind
the bar clicking away on her telephone. When we wanted something we had to
gp and find out where she was.

For a place with higher than average prices for decent food the service was
atrocious. If value is based upon the entire experience including service, Micho
fell far short of what we expected from the reviews we read on Trip Advisor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMicho, Owner at Michos, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for visiting Michos and we are terribly sorry your experience was not what you hoped, nor what it should be. The scenario you describe will be addressed today with our staff and adjustments will be made to prevent this in the future. i am not sure what went wrong that day, but we have been in a staff transition so that could create a problem. Again i apologize and i hope that you will visit us should you ever pass through Antigua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

If it was 1990 I would have rated Michos as 5 stars.
But the dining experience has changed so much since then.

Too many flavors all clashing and competing with one and other.
Confusing to the taste buds.

Keeping it simple and the flavors apart would be a much better
food experience.

Prices are on the high side as compared to others competing in the
same marketplace.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMicho, Owner at Michos, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Very sorry that your experience at Michos was not what you hoped for, but i suppose since you prefer a simple dish with few flavors then Michos was never going to be your type of place. We are not sure what 1990 has to do with anything. Even in 1990 restaurants were combining flavors and challenging diners' taste buds. Unfortunately Michos will never be your type of place because we can assure you we will never keep it "simple". The chef and his staff want food to be creative, adventurous and fun. Rather then separate flavors or items our plates explode with flavors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michos also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Michos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing