We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy and comforting soups!”

La Casa de las Sopas
Ranked #40 of 365 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Small intimate restaurant that make homemade dishes. We specialize in soup and Guatemalan CALDOS, which is like a soup on steriods! We buy all of our produce fresh from the local market and cook everything from scratch. For our customers that arent too interested in soup, we have plenty of options you will like. Our soups are served with a salad and large local heavy bread w/garlic mayonaise pesto. Come in and try our local dishes, you wont be disappointed.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy and comforting soups!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Really good place to go if you feel like a warm and comforting meal on a cold night. I had the Italian meatball soup which was delicious and my partner had the minestrone which was hearty and filling. Service was also really friendly. All the tables are outside so make sure you dress warm if you are going on a cold night!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AliBob86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    39
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best home made chicken soup”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were told about this restaurant by our hotel in Antigua. I had the chicken and vegetable soup, be warned it is a meal for two. It has white chicken meat on the bone, carrots, choyote, squash, rice, along with black pepper and probably some other secret ingredients. It is absolutely delicious, and served piping hot the way soup should be served.Very filling but not heavy. I could not eat it all, way too much for one unless you are really hungry. It was 50Q, excellent deal. The owner Edith is very nice as well which always adds to any restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in relaxed and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We happened upon this place when a restaurant we had been recommended turned out to be closed. In then end that was a piece of luck. The soups here are amazing and chock full of flavour. Vegetarians are also well catered for. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed and the service helpful and explanatory..because the dishes are a little unfamiliar.

A great find and one that will merit a repeat visit sometime!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twohermitcrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly service and satisfying soups... Don't hesitate to visit!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent value and helpful service... Good veggie option available and superfriendly host. Yummy food with fresh ingredients... The only food place in Antigua that I would visit again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarmaYogaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy food, great service”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just came upon the restaurant and felt the need for a heartwarming bowl of soup. We were lucky. The soup was hearty, the sides delicious and both the owner and cook took great pride in the restaurant. Better yet the price was right!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donnastx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa de las Sopas also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to La Casa de las Sopas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing