We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!”
Review of Hotel Sor Juana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sor Juana
Ranked #3 of 128 Antigua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Stay here!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I haven't even finished my stay at Sor Juana but am enjoying it so much that I just have to write my review now, while sitting in my beautiful room. Everything about this place is exquisite, very comfortable and homely. The staff are wonderful and really interesting to chat with, the bed is beautifully comfortable, and breakfast on the terrace with volcano views is a real treat and makes the room even better value. I particularly love the art and textiles decorating the whole place. If I didn't live so far away, I would say I'd come back to Antigua again soon just to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
71
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Unreal place to stay. We were nervous about staying in Guatemala and this hotel and staff made us feel right at home and safe. The property is stunning and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. The location is close to the strip and far enough that it is nice and quiet at bed time.

The staff we cannot praise enough, they helped us so much with day trips and even planning further into our backpacking adventure. Will recommend this hotel to everyone thinking of staying in antigua :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cshore84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I visited to Sor Juana with my mom and we were both completely struck by the style and comfort that Sor Juana offered. Julio gave us a tour of this cozy hotel that is hidden away from the normal hustle and bustle of Antigua, and we felt so lucky that we had chosen this place to stay while in Antigua. Breakfast that following morning was also amazing, as we had views of Volcan Fuego and surrounding Guatemalan hills. I will definitely recommend Sor Juana to anyone looking for the perfect hotel during their stay in Antigua.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

From the moment we entered the front door, we were treated like royalty. This small hotel looks unremarkable from the outside, but is a beautiful mixture of the 16th Century convent from which it arose and a modern, comfortable living space. It is spacious, beds are comfortable, and the view both inside and out are unparalleled. Only 4 blocks from the main plaza, very quiet at night.
Highly recommended! Thank you Julio.

Room Tip: We got a tour, and every room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldemeulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The super helpful and friendly staff, the well decorated and comfortable room, the location, the delicious breakfast on the rooftop with one of the best views of Antigua, made our weekend getaway in Antigua such a pleasurable experience that we promised we'll go back to Hotel Sor Juana!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeca2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Only 5 rooms but what rooms! Each one is a suite, totally charming and completely different from the next (we looked). Having a rooftoop breakfast was a unique and fun experience. A short (10 minute) walk to the city center. A great value and super quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I toiled with the idea of writing a review purely on account of wanting to keep Sor Juana a secret but that would seem unfair to other travellers. I also wanted to exhaust the professionalism of Julio and Jimmena who were helpful from booking to paying attention to our every need during our five day stay. I felt looked after in a very positive way. Sor Juana does Antigua proud. The hotel has character and a deep sense of history within its walls. It has been thoughtfully decorated to a high standard and is both comfortable and enchanting. Other reviewers oh this site have felt the rooms lacked light. Personally I don't see this as a problem. Breakfast was served on a splendid roof terrace with amazing views to the surrounding volcanoes. The coffee flowed without prompting. Traditional breakfast served with a tropical twist. The secret is now out and I hope other travellers treat Sor Juana with the respect and kindness it deserves. Well done a highlight and place to return to in the future.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 76 in Antigua
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#6 of 76 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 76 in Antigua
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 76 in Antigua
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sor Juana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sor Juana

Property: Hotel Sor Juana
Address: 4ta Calle Oriente # 45, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sor Juana 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sor Juana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing