We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mex in Guate”
Review of Cactus

Cactus
Ranked #10 of 376 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Vibrant mexican cuisine in the heart of Antigua, with a cozy ambiance and a cosmolpolitan crowd, good live music everyday and excellent service.Among our favorite dishes: shrimp and bacon burritos, fish tacos,caldo tlalpeno, cochinita pibil nachos and tempura shrimp tacos.Variety of beer, delicious Margaritas and the best Micheladas in town. Open every day.
Tecpan, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Mex in Guate”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

What a great surprise after so many average Mexican meals in Guatemala. These are authentic and fresh. The owner is a wonderful Mexican woman and knows her tacos and burritos. They have recently expanded, but the quality is still there. I recommend the fish tacos, they are awesome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gregkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    93
    33
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We went every day!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The food here was so good we just kept coming back for more.. I think we actually went about 3 times in 2 days in Antigua. The staff were incredibly friendly and attentive. They even let us come in and eat when they were still painting the walls because we were so desperate for more of their tacos!! My favourite was the prawn and bacon ones. Great value and a great atmosphere.... thinking about it now is making my mouth water!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ck1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Mexican foon in Antigua”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Just remodeled and doubled in size, Cactus is the best Mexican food in town, next to Mexico. Try the fish tacos, nachos, well just try it all

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lennyz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Great service, and Great prices!!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Cactus, has fast become my go to place to eat. It has everything a person needs, Great food, Great service, and Great prices. I seem to be eating there every other day. The tacos are my favorite things to eat at Cactus. Give it a try...you will not regret it!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quick,Good and the Shop is owned by a Mexican Lady!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

What a friendly little place. Suzy and I eat her once a month and just love it. After living here for five years, from Southern California, it was good to see a true Mexico City native bring the cuisine to La Antigua. Everything on the menu is first class and you can watch it being made. Most meals less than $6 dollars US.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fairwayfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing