We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Cactus

Cactus
Ranked #13 of 365 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Vibrant mexican cuisine in the heart of Antigua, with a cozy ambiance and a cosmolpolitan crowd, good live music everyday and excellent service.Among our favorite dishes: shrimp and bacon burritos, fish tacos,caldo tlalpeno, cochinita pibil nachos and tempura shrimp tacos.Variety of beer, delicious Margaritas and the best Micheladas in town. Open every day.
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We found the service very good. We didn{t particularly
like sitting on the street. Literaaly, the place is small and
two of our stools were placed onthe sidewalk.

The food was good. The Nachos were good but small.
The fish taco was good but we thught from the other
reviews they would be much better.

Prices are good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    90
    33
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
“Greatest find in Antigua”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I am so thankful to have found this gem in Antigua. The food is by far some of the best food I have ever had! Hands down! You can taste every single ingredient. So fresh and great quality. I have tried a few different things on the menu: the burrito, chicken tacos (on the regular tortillas or the healthier version on lettuce leaves), both fish tacos. It was all fantastic. Their mojitos and margaritas are also phenomenal!
Not to mention the staff! Ms. Laura, the owner, is simply wonderful! And the staff is always so friendly. I will continue my "a couple times a week" tradition! Thank you Cactus!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hmaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Random find, went back a few times it was so good!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

YUM! 2 for 1 mojitos which are fresh hand made are the best i have ever had anywhere. The enchiladas were great, pork tacos amazing, and shrimp burrito was killer! They had live music one night which was awesome also. Get there early cause it isn't very big inside but well worth checking out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Tacos & Margaritas - Buen provecho!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

If you're looking for tacos & margaritas, you would be hard pressed to find better anywhere in Antigua. The fish tacos are outstanding. The shrimp & bacon tacos -- although I hesitate to use this overused expression -- are "to die for." And the margaritas will leave your lips very entertained. Great music, too. A small place, near 6th & 6th, and a very worthy find. Buen provecho!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NedBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, lovely owner”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Not sure how many times I've been here, but it's a lot! Great burritos and some killer mojitos! Very tiny place with a great atmosphere, always packed with people, and occasionally you'll get some live music! The staff is very friendly, and Laura - the owner - is a sweetheart!
If you're looking for great tasty Mexican food, with lots of avocado's, and a low price: you're at the right place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing