We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Los Bucaros
Nearby Hotels
$98
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Rafael Hotel(Antigua)
$125
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$180
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Porta Hotel Antigua(Antigua)
$250
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$157
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Encantada(Antigua)
$179
$161
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Meson del Valle(Antigua)(Great Value!)
$70
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
87
85
54
16
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
85
54
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstucan tourlovely little hotelcolonial buildingshort walk to the main squareg adventures tourbasic accommodationbase to explorefew blocksmain courtyardfree water and coffeetwin bedsreception areanice showercentral areaupstairs roomeasy walking distanceshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 246 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2011

It is about 5 blocks away from the central park. It is located in a quieter area, but has lots of spas, restaurants, and cafes nearby. Great if you would like to get away from the touristic center, yet be close enough to walk. The hotel has 2 lovely courtyards that have an open roof, wonderful garden, and water fountain. There is a security guard at night so it's a bit more secure. The hotel has a tv, and free wifi and offers free purified water, and coffee in the morning. they have tables in the courtyard that make reading during the day lovely. There is also a book exchange area. The buffets are great value. This hotel had everything I was looking for and I would go back again.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
Thank Agent226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

This hotel is a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Antigua on a quiet street. Overall the hotel feels secure because the front door is kept locked at all times. The lock on my room door (which was unusually narrow!) however felt quite flimsy. The rooms were sufficiently spacious and nicely decorated. Unfortunately the toilet was broken because water kept running through continuously which created unwelcome noise. In addition we woke up in the morning to find half of the room flooded possibly from toilet water although some seemed to be coming from the wall! I'm willing to write this off as an isolated fault with our room because no one else in our tour group had the same problem. Overall a satisfactory place to stay for the price of the room.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

It's a bit outside the center of Antigua but then again Antigua is so small it hardly matters.
The rooms on the upper floor have lounge chairs outside so you can sit in the sun. The rooms are nice with big windows though sound insulation is not too good.
There's free purified water on the corridor (pitchers in the room) and free coffee in the lobby / courtyard.
I would stay there again any time!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We had a group of 25 on a medical mission. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had some access to the kitchen. Breakfast was arranged for the group for a low prices...and the staff served great and varied breakfasts, tables set nicely and a fire in the fireplace. It was a little strange having a open window in the bathroom. It was a little cool at nights so we kept the bathroom door closed to keep the cool air out. Nice places to sit around in the patio areas. The have a computer available and wifi (two different routers on the two sides of the hotel so if you carry your laptop from one side to the other, you will have to change signals and passwords).

Rooms vary in size, furniture and number of beds. Some have skylights.

Not a far walk to the center of town but you are far enough away that you don't have crowds or extra noise.

We were there the week of a festival which featured loud fireworks at random times during the day and night...but that doesn't have anything to do with the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at Los Bucaros as part of Gap Adventures Tour and ened up extending few more days. We really lucked out as we happened to be there during Cuaresma and the beginning of Semana Santa (Holy Week). We went around seeing the Palm Sunday procession and when we returned, voila!, the procession passed right in front of our hotel. Even during the busy time, the hotel accommodated us. Other than Internet not working/intermittently working, they have free coffee and water, as well as friendly staff. The rooms were clean and nice... the only weird thing was that the bathrooms have these huge clover-shaped openings to the courtyard...which let mosquitos into our bathroom. Sounds like room conditions varied, but our room #1 (which had 4 beds) and #2 were fine. For $60, I thought it was really a good deal.

One night, they had some banquet and had mariachi band... the walls almost crumbled because it was bit loud... but it was still quite entertaining... great music!

I hear Guatemala is quite dangerous... I heard it first-hand from various Antiguans.... it was pretty apparent as this hotel had two double locked doors with wrought-iron gates. That was the case in most of the tiendas (little stores). Even then, we didn't really feel unsafe... Our group walked around at night and it seemed fine.

Two of us got airport transporation for $50 by two staff who were very nice. I would highly recommend this hotel. (Extra note: If you want to splurge a bit, though, Santo Domingo Hotel was incredible situated on a site of a ruin. I would have liked to stay there for a bit. Wish I knew about it before... Visited on the last day... still lamenting about it.)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyricJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews