We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 strikes makes my review change”
Review of Posada Los Bucaros

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Los Bucaros
Ranked #39 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“3 strikes makes my review change”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Strke 1: The noise is intolerable when other guest (mostly Americans) fail to use their inside voice and consider that they are not the only people living in a confined open space (shame on Emory University pre-med and pre-dental students in particular). The hotel staff were unable or unwilling to manage noise levels.

Strike 2: Bugs, bugs, bugs! In the bathroom and in the bed, I found bugs. I think it was ants but not sure. I am not screamish about bugs but they should be treating beds and baths.

Stike 3: The coffee is like dirty dish water. The coffee use to be excellecent but there is often not enough for the number of quests and it is of very poor quality.

After 4 years of staying here every spring, we will no longer stay. There are many other nice, quieter options. I was very disappointed by my experiences.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 6 because of the noise and Room 11 because of the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maimutzacelmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    80
    43
    15
    4
See reviews for
20
39
42
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night on Exodus's La Ruta Maya tour. Hotel was okay but rooms and bathroom very basic and could hear the TV on in reception all night. Breakfast was good and they even lit a fire for us in the dining room as it was freezing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErkiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

central location. walk to everything. rooms very clean and comfortable No noticible noise except for the church bell which I enjoyed. Staff were helpful and very happy to assist even when they didnt understand you - dont post a letter there - mine arrived 9mths later LOL which surprised me when it did arrive
wifi in foyer and courtyard which is very lovely enjoyed both times I stayed
great to have endless supply of drinking water and kitchen use to make hot drinks

Room Tip: Upstairs for the roof top views, lovely large windows in light filled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retromeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice little place to experience Guatemalan posadas. Clean, friendly, lots of little corners to sit & read or just have a cup of coffee. Minor beef is that the showers don't drain well, so you wind up standing in an inch of water. But, hey! it's hot water, and the price is excellent. Some commenters mention traffic noise, but it's not really that bad, and ubiquitous in Antigua.

Room Tip: If you care about in-room WiFi, make sure the transceiver at your end of the hotel is working, When...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueCrowKoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We visited Antigua late January 2013 and went to this place without any reservations and not even checking the rating on TA. The rooms where available and our inspection of the hotel was positive (you may even bargain the price). The front of the hotel faces a busy street with high traffic volume and this could be an issue for some travellers. The deal in this hotel is the triple room that has a window facing a nice green area, has the big, very nice bath and cost only $50. The service and staff in the hotel is very good and the walk to the major tourist places is 15-20 min. The place is safe and we felt very comfortable walking Antigua's street even when it got dark. We checked some room options for 3 people in other hotels and this one was the best option for 3 adults.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latawiec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bittern
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Only had 2 nights here but glad to have no more as it was really noisy from the street noise. The rooms were clean and the public areas were very clean and tidy. Free coffee all day and great staff. Pity about the noise as the rest was ok

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitterntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very central in Antigua. You were able to walk to everything. The rooms were very clean however ours was quite small and noisy. Ear plugs were a must.
Staff were helpful and very accommodating however they don't know much English so make sure you learn some Spanish.
They have wifi which is also great. Recommend for sure!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.0 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#23 of 75 in Antigua
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#28 of 75 in Antigua
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#50 of 75 in Antigua
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada El Antano
Posada El Antano
#59 of 75 in Antigua
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Los Bucaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Los Bucaros

Property: Posada Los Bucaros
Address: 7 Av. Norte 94, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#7 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Posada Los Bucaros Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing