We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Posada Los Bucaros

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Los Bucaros
Ranked #37 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights, enjoyed my stay here, the rooms were clean. The hotel has a cute courtyard area with tables & seating. I liked the attention to details around the hotel i.e the colourful cushions on the lobby sofa's, you will feel at home. They provide free water & coffee by the reception, staff were friendly too. They have free wifi too. I would stay here again. Don't forget to have brekie at Fenandez's on right of the hotel, on the corner.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angel1976London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    80
    44
    15
    4
See reviews for
20
40
42
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I stayed here with a travel and study program. Rooms are spacious, staff are friendly but most speak minimal English (which was okay for me) and the location was excellent. The biggest problem are the shared courtyards--every room faces a courtyard. The courtyard is great and unless you have a bunch of self-absorbed, ignorant American students from State Universities staying, the experience can be excellent. Unfortunately, a number of drunk American students woke everyone up at midnight and again at 3 AM. It was obvious they had little supervision or awareness of how their own behavior affected others. I am an American--it just made me disgusted with this group and having led travel and study seminars since 1991, I would be embarrassed for my university. So, that is the only downside--it can be very noisy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maimutzacelmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

All staff were very helpful and welcoming. Antigua is tiny and this hotel is about 6 small blocks to main square. On arrival the reservation wasn't on the system, but it wasn't a problem and a room was arranged immediately. There is a great coffee shop one block away on the corner for breakfast and lots of good places to eat no more than ten minutes. The room was a simple ensuite, no tv/phone etc but wifi which was really handy, and the room was made up each day. I heard of a lot of people paying A LOT to get to Antigua from Guatemala City airport, I pre-booked a taxi for $10, so don't be fooled! The hotel has two patios which are nice to sit out and relax. If I were to go to Antigua again I'd probably stay somewhere else for a change but for a simple but friendly stay in Antigua, here fits the bill.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

It is about 5 blocks away from the central park. It is located in a quieter area, but has lots of spas, restaurants, and cafes nearby. Great if you would like to get away from the touristic center, yet be close enough to walk. The hotel has 2 lovely courtyards that have an open roof, wonderful garden, and water fountain. There is a security guard at night so it's a bit more secure. The hotel has a tv, and free wifi and offers free purified water, and coffee in the morning. they have tables in the courtyard that make reading during the day lovely. There is also a book exchange area. The buffets are great value. This hotel had everything I was looking for and I would go back again.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Agent226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

This hotel is a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Antigua on a quiet street. Overall the hotel feels secure because the front door is kept locked at all times. The lock on my room door (which was unusually narrow!) however felt quite flimsy. The rooms were sufficiently spacious and nicely decorated. Unfortunately the toilet was broken because water kept running through continuously which created unwelcome noise. In addition we woke up in the morning to find half of the room flooded possibly from toilet water although some seemed to be coming from the wall! I'm willing to write this off as an isolated fault with our room because no one else in our tour group had the same problem. Overall a satisfactory place to stay for the price of the room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

It's a bit outside the center of Antigua but then again Antigua is so small it hardly matters.
The rooms on the upper floor have lounge chairs outside so you can sit in the sun. The rooms are nice with big windows though sound insulation is not too good.
There's free purified water on the corridor (pitchers in the room) and free coffee in the lobby / courtyard.
I would stay there again any time!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia USA
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We had a group of 25 on a medical mission. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had some access to the kitchen. Breakfast was arranged for the group for a low prices...and the staff served great and varied breakfasts, tables set nicely and a fire in the fireplace. It was a little strange having a open window in the bathroom. It was a little cool at nights so we kept the bathroom door closed to keep the cool air out. Nice places to sit around in the patio areas. The have a computer available and wifi (two different routers on the two sides of the hotel so if you carry your laptop from one side to the other, you will have to change signals and passwords).

Rooms vary in size, furniture and number of beds. Some have skylights.

Not a far walk to the center of town but you are far enough away that you don't have crowds or extra noise.

We were there the week of a festival which featured loud fireworks at random times during the day and night...but that doesn't have anything to do with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Landivar
Posada Landivar
#70 of 75 in Antigua
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#44 of 75 in Antigua
247 reviews
14.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#64 of 75 in Antigua
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#51 of 75 in Antigua
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Los Bucaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Los Bucaros

Property: Posada Los Bucaros
Address: 7 Av. Norte 94, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#7 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Posada Los Bucaros Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing