We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meson Panza Verde
Nearby Hotels
$98
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Rafael Hotel(Antigua)
$125
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$180
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$119
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Porta Hotel Antigua(Antigua)
$250
$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Encantada(Antigua)
$179
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Meson del Valle(Antigua)(Great Value!)
$70
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveler rating
360
75
13
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
75
13
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand suiteart galleryescargotpiano barstar dining experiencefrench doors openingtamalessmall lap poolbeautiful boutique hotelbeautiful rooftopthe hotel's websitelarge bathroomprivate terracemaster suitesmall hotelrose petalsfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 460 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
London
842
Reviewed May 23, 2006

I agree that this hotel is okay - great at times and terrible at others.

First, they messed up our room allocation, where I was given that grand suite and my friend the standard as the check-in staff could not speak english at all. The next day, the english speaking staff told me about the mix up and left it to me to explain to my friend, who was very gracious about it all.

Second, the restaurtant noise really is intrusiuve. Fortunately, I had sleeping pills to get me through it.

Third, the restaurant is not open Sunday evenings and Mondays. Good if you are trying to sleep.

Fourth, there was no staff around at times to help us plan our day or sort out issues.

Otherwise, a beautiful old house, very quiet during the day, big grand suite but bathroom "window" was next to people dining. Poor things having to listen to me do my toilette.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas
16
Reviewed April 12, 2006

From the moment we stepped into the rose filled courtyard until checkout time 7 days later we were totally charmed. By our suite, by the staff, by the wonderful food in the restaurant around the pool. We stayed in Suite 4 which is downstairs but tucked in a corner away from the sounds of the people enjoying lunch and dinner right outside our door (thick walls made everyone magically dissappear when the door was closed). The suite was the size of a small apartment with an ample sized very comfortable living room with french doors opening onto our very private orchid filled garden patio, a gracious sized bedroom with 2 standard beds and a huge window that cranked open for another wonderful view of the patio and a giant bathroom with a large shower that had beautiful red fresh beauganvilla scattered across the bottom when I stepped in on the first night. It will be hard to choose between drinks on your private patio, or in the intimate bar, or on the roof overlooking a view you cannot believe is real or in the piano bar with Salsa music extrordinaire (the leader is a real live member of the "Buena Vista Social Club" band - don't know them? - pick up a CD before you leave home to get in the mood!) We looked at all of the larger suites upstairs before leaving and each suite was more opulent than the one we just looked at. I cannot wait to go back. There is an art gallery on the rooftop and fresh roses and lilies of every color in pots and vases all over the hotel - indoors and out. Free breakfast every morning with fantastic coffee, "tamales", cakes and fresh fruit. You will be spoiled and loving it. AND most amazing of all - how did those charming, giggling ladies who are tidying up everywhere carry those huge pitchers of water on their heads?? Practice your Buenes Tardes and Buenes Dias because everyone greets you with a big smile and a lovely wish for a beautiful and happy day - which is exactly what you will have. Enjoy

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2006

Our family of four shared the grand suite and couldnt have been more pleased. The room was stunningly beautiful and ultimately comfortable. We did hear music from the restaurant below until 10:30 or so, but it was the Buena Vista Social Club - what an amazing treat!! The restaurant was excellent including a nice breakfast, the rooftop garden a delight and they even offer yoga classes. We toured the Santa Domingo and while it is admitedly quite beautiful,it felt stuffy and touristy.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank YogaMamaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2006

The hotel tries so hard to be a botique that it fails as a hotel. We stayed for three nights in 3 different rooms. Of the 12 or so rooms only 2or 3 are decent. Most suffer from the noise from the restauarant until ab0ut 11 at night. One room had almost no light. The bathroom fixtures in the older rooms are in need of repair. Service is very mixed. The restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank forevertraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2006

We found Meson Panza Verde on a google search at home in Australia when we were looking for an 'unusual' place to meet two friends and get married.

We have no regrets at all.
We stayed for 7 nights and got married on the roof top terrace of the hotel.
We can highly recommend room 7 which has it's own seperate stone staircase and amazing room and bathroom with spa.
The place has amazing 'wow' factor, it is really stylish, with beautiful features and attention to detail.
Ingrid - the Hotel Manager was just amazing. From our initial email enquiry, she was able to put us in touch with a lawyer to marry us and arranged everything for us including recommending hair dresser, organising a bouquet of flowers, table decoration for the evening, setting up the terrace and helping us choose where to do the ceremony. Helped our friends organise a surprise horse and carriage ride round town and even found a regular lunch guest of theirs who played 'here comes the bride' as I walked through the restaurant to see my groom!
The service was impecable.
Rooms amazing and clean. They sprinkled rose petals on our bed on the day and lit candles in our room.
Breakfasts each day were really yummy and all the staff were just beautiful.
The art and gallery add a real extra element to it all.
Considering it was all a big risk organising everything by internet in a country we'd never been too - it couldn't have been better thanks to Ingrid and Panza Verde.
The restaurant food is AMAZING here too and restaurant itself just beautiful.
If you want to spoil yourselves this is the place to come and indulge in opulance and beauty.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pomandoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews