We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cultural experience”
Review of Meson Panza Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meson Panza Verde
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The definition of boutique hotel: unique, magic, personal, artsy, international, successfully, fully engaged in its community. 5 nights of appreciation of a cultural effort. Oh, yes, great beds, perfect pillows and dedicated staff. The sound of running water is with you as the mostly reliable wifi. Gracias.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GourmetloverKula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 442 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

This review is for the restaurant at Meson Panza Verde, not for the lodging.

Having had dinner at the Panza Verde numerous times during our trips to Antigua over the past 10 or so years, I decided it was time to write a review. This is hands-down our favorite dining experience in Antigua. The food is lovely, fresh, and well-presented (the Snook is awesome!). The service is attentive without being too watchful. The atmosphere is charming and picturesque. The architecture and grounds are amazing. The location is several blocks from the square, so it is quieter but a very easy walk from the square. Although Antigua has quite a few really good restaurants featuring a variety of cuisines, in our opinion, the Panza Verde is simply the best!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had high expectations for this hotel after reading the reviews and looking at the website.

I wasn't disappointed as such but there are definitely some areas that need improvements.

The room is really lovely, however there was no water in our room, but an empty jug.

Check in was very brief.

Our room (number 6) first floor was a little noisy at times.

Breakfast is very basic and with limited choices. coffee not good, disappointing considering you can get excellent coffee everywhere is Antigua. Expected more from the breakfast.

Not the best on our 3 month holiday travelling Central America, disappointing considering this was our 'splurge' hotel :(

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in Master Suite 7, which is very nice. It is spacious, well appointed, and has a large bathroom with a nice shower and tub. To access room, however, you need to walk through the restaurant - which, as other reviewers have noted, is right outside the door of several rooms. The overall design/integration between the hotel and restaurant makes it appear as though the restaurant has been woven around various phases of the hotel's development.

Arrangements with the hotel and staff are were very professional, with particular thanks to Ingrid and Nisa. The hotel is an easy walking distance from the central square and relatively quiet. While breakfast is overseen by a delightful older seniora, the breakfast offerings are far below the standard expected in accommodations of this standard and identical day to day. We appreciated the hotel offering live, high quality music, several nights a week

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jagador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

THe Panza Verde Hotel is an historic building decorated beautiful and has great personality. The restaurant is one of the best in Antigua and have live music at night, very nice. The staff is very friendly and effective. The breakfast is somehow too basic, even for Europeans.
When you're going to book a room, visit first their site and check their rooms, all of them are very different from the other and although have the same classification, they might differ very much in size, especially the jr suites, some of them are really suites and other are just kind of large rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed in Room 12 which is called the owner's suite. I have traveled all over the world and stayed at many nice hotels, but I would have to say hand downs Room 12 is the best room I have ever seen. I felt like I was in an issue of Architectural Digest! The room is large with stunning details, museum quality paintings and furniture. The room is also very romantic for a couple as it has a gorgeous two person hot tub and shower! The view of the volcano was also nice.

As far as the hotel, it is also very cute. Just a short 5 block walk to the main plaza in Antigua. We also ate at the hotel restaurant which was excellent.

I'm sure the other rooms are also nice, but the downstairs rooms may get loud if restaurant open. I'd opt for upstairs rooms, Room 12 is definitely worth the splurge. Actually a phenomenal deal compared to what you would pay in the States.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Texantraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for two short nights and loved every minute of it. Our suite was beautiful, peaceful and very spacious. The restaurant is one of the most romantic in all of Antigua and they have amazing Latin salsa on Thursday evenings...an absolute must if you stay here.

I recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a beautiful experience...it's worth the splurge!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScootieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 75 in Antigua
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#7 of 75 in Antigua
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
795 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#6 of 75 in Antigua
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson Panza Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Panza Verde

Address: 5 Av sur 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#5 Family Hotel in Antigua
#8 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $109 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meson Panza Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn has nine suites and three double rooms. Just beyond the entrance, there is an inviting central garden and fountain surrounded by a veranda that is quintessential Antigua. Our restaurant is considered one of the finest in the country. Its reputation for "international cuisine with a twist" has made it a favorite with Guatemalans and international travelers alike. Many consider Meson Panza Verde to be the preferred destination for their stay in Beautiful Spanish Colonial Antigua, the land of eternal spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Meson Panza Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Panza Verde Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing