We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meson Panza Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meson Panza Verde
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on our trip to Guatemala and loved it. The atmosphere of the hotel is lovely. It's been built to seem old. The restaurant is good and tables are either around the courtyard or under the arched ceilings of the bar area. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel has music events/evenings which are most enjoyable. The room we had was rather small so my advice is to upgrade to a larger room. Plenty to do and see within close proximity of hotel which is well located.

Room Tip: Don't go for the lead in room type as they are very small. Upgrade your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gwynnethv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    67
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
44
239
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We've traveled a bit and stayed around the world at some really nice spots - but this is first I've really felt obligated to write about and encourage others to stay. Really just an exceptional place, and my wife and I loved it. Property was peaceful, beautiful and romantic. Small lap pool was great for my wife, and I liked the nook nearby to catch up on some reading. Staff was helpful, friendly and courteous - I'm still getting up each morning wishing Blanca were here to set that great breakfast table. Bought Guatemalan coffee down there, but just can't replicate the taste and setting of what we had down there. Was a great place - just go!

Room Tip: We had the smallest room of the place - wonderful value, some might say a bit small, but we weren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I actually stayed at Meson Panza Verde in 2010 but they won't let me write that. They are incredible. It is one of the most storybook dreamlike places I have ever been to. You walk in from a hot day and are greeted by candlelight and flowers, offers or tea and water. You can see lovely handpicked art, meet the lovely owner share a toast, walk upstairs and see the view. Somehow such a still sweet spot amongst a lively town. I've stayed several times. My room each time had a different charm. Patios, fireplaces, bathtubs, antique furniture and decor. It is all so stunning. I will most definitely go back there if I make it back to Antigua.

Room Tip: They all had such charm.... If you smoke choose a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evapistola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Beautiful rooftop seating area, convenient location and good restaurant.
Super clean room with uncomfortable beds.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Wonderful cappuccino in server at breakfast (on request)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waltertu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived to our hotel just in time to check in. We stayed in Suite 7, beautiful, we had our own balcony with french doors. The room was clean, flat screen tv, phone, fireplace, jacuzzi with shower, confortable bed, no refrigerator tho. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was pricey for the amount of food and drinks were expensive too. Continental breakfast was included in the package. They offer different services and exhibitions, so you should call to find out what they have when you go. The hotel is gorgeous, the roof gardens are beautiful and the volcano view expectacular. It is deffinately a good place to stay and relax and have a romantic time with your loved one. We will deffinately stay here again and we will recommend it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have jacuzzi or fireplace, so make sure you ask before you book your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelmendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a beautiful room here with a private balcony. There was a surprise on the first evening, which was a music recital. As it was directly under our room we got to hear it whether we liked it or not. As it happened – we did. It was fab, but not everyone might have agreed! The biggest drawback is that the restaurant was directly below and there was some noise during service. My only other point was that there was no aircon. This was fine in February but I would not have liked to try it in August!

Room Tip: Make sure you get one wiht a terrace / balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank no1kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This gem of a hotel was the perfect place to rest and recoup. Try the lap pool in the wee hours of the morning, before guests have risen. Gorgeous room with old world charm and ambiance, huge tiled tub perfect for soaking, with hot, hot water, and lovely and loving attention to every detail. Staff was exemplary, friendly, and kind. Felt like I had always lived there the moment I arrived. Walk, run, skip there, as fast as you can. A must have experience. Did I mention, the food is fabulous?

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
14.5 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#7 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#9 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson Panza Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Panza Verde

Property: Meson Panza Verde
Address: 5 Av sur 19, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#8 Family Hotel in Antigua
#8 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meson Panza Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn has nine suites and three double rooms. Just beyond the entrance, there is an inviting central garden and fountain surrounded by a veranda that is quintessential Antigua. Our restaurant is considered one of the finest in the country. Its reputation for "international cuisine with a twist" has made it a favorite with Guatemalans and international travelers alike. Many consider Meson Panza Verde to be the preferred destination for their stay in Beautiful Spanish Colonial Antigua, the land of eternal spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Meson Panza Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Panza Verde Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing