We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meson Panza Verde
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveler rating
357
75
13
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
75
13
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand suiteart galleryescargotpiano barstar dining experiencefrench doors openingtamalessmall lap poolbeautiful boutique hotelbeautiful rooftopthe hotel's websitelarge bathroomromantic placeprivate terracemaster suitesmall hotelrose petals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 457 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed in a suite that had a large balcony overlooking the inner courtyard of this small boutique. Our suite was large and the bathroom was spectacular with a jacuzzi tub and windows that opened onto the pool. We had two french doors that opened onto the balcony where we would enjoy coffee in the mornings. The rooftop terrace looks out over a very old colonial city with rich history. This was our favorite stop in Guatemala as my husband took photos of the many crumbling cathedrals. We had a breakfast buffet that was included in our room rate and the food was delicious. Dinner in the restaurant each night was amazing as well as the service.

Some reviewers complained about the music. We were there on a Saturday night and the music was absolutely lovely and it ended at 10pm...however, it was subdued and tasteful.

The only negative comment I had is that the courtyard door is always locked so we had to schlep through the restaurant dining room with our bags the first night we arrived. It was uncomfortable as the diners stared at us as they tried to enjoy their meals. This was the case every time we came back to our room. Also, be aware that you cannot swim while they are serving lunch or dinner as the pool is in the dining room. This was not an issue for us because we were busy exploring the city.

Room Tip: stay in the suite - it is worth it
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Great place to stay! Very clean, service was wonderful. We had a jr. suite, it was very nice. It is a small hotel, but has lots of character. There is a great restaurant, very fine dining, possibly best in Antigua. No worries about getting sick with water of vegetables here. The staff arranged airport shuttle as well.
There is a 5 star hotel in Antigua, it had a nice restaurant, but it had the feel of a resort, and seemed very crowded, it did a better pool area if that is what you are interested in.
When we return, we will stay at Panza Verde, no question about it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Staff excellent
Restaurant excellent
Rooms beautiful
It's truly amazing

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chillimudcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Such a beautiful and characterful little hotel, we found it hard to believe it is new and not a genuine old colonial house. Charming little courtyards, 3 different areas semi outside to dine at night, and a cosy inside dining room for breakfast. Excellent, European style food. It is a bit further from the town centre than we expected so we did not go out to eat at night, no point anyway as the food and ambience was first class. The roof terrace is a delight, fabulous view of the surrounding volcanoes (before the cloud rolls in!), plants in pots, copolas, decorative chimney pieces, little hidden areas in which to sit. We stayed twice, in suites 9 and 7. Suite 9 is on the ground floor beyond the restaurant. When we went to bed (early, having just arrived from Europe) we could hear voices from the restaurant, but it was just a gentle hubub, not noisy. Spacious room with a fireplace and tiny private terrace with a lions head water feature in a very high wall lush with climbing plants. The large bathroom had a freestanding jacuzzi bath with a lacy shower curtain round it like a mosquito net round a bed, and a stained glass window above. Bath robes provided. Suite 7 is up a "private" staircase from the Zen Garden, to a "private" terrace, except there is nothing to say the staircase only leads to suite 7 so people wander up there, exploring. A sign would be helpful. It was directly above the restaurant and there was live music that night - Cuban jazz - which we could hear almost as loudly as if in the restaurant. A lovely, large room and the terrace was very pleasant to sit out on, with the sound of the fountain in the Zen Garden below, but some silly little niggles like no bedside table on one side of the bed, the bathroom door not shutting properly, the loo seat falling down when a chap puts it up and the towels hanging at the furthest point from the bath and basin (a large bathroom). The plug in the jazuzzi bath leaked as well, but we reported it so that has hopefully been rectified by now.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Staying at the Meson Panza Verde is truly a memorable experience. From its pretty plant-filled courtyard to its large antique-filled suites, it is really like staying at a museum of Spanish colonial culture (as many have commented).

I booked my trip at the last minute and was fortunate to get the last available suite (No.4 on the first floor). I thought I was getting the least desirable suite since all the others had already been booked, but it was absolutely beautiful with its wood-beamed ceilings, separate living room with traditional Spanish wood furniture and nice fire place, pretty bedroom with two queen beds and nice artwork, and huge bathroom. None of this came at the expense of comfort as the beds were quite comfortable and the shower had plenty of warm water). As if that weren't enough, there is a large adjoining outdoor sitting area with a fountain and garden. Incidentally, the hotel's website (www.panzaverde.com) is very helpful with excellent pictures of each suite.

The staff were also very nice and helpful. Since I was travelling on my own, the nice girl at the front desk offered the option of dinner in my suite, which was delicious.

Perhaps the only negative (and a very minor one) is that the location is about 5-6 blocks from the center of Antiqua, which can seem longer due to the cobblestone streets and uneven sidewalks. Still, the same is true of Antigua's other top places and it also makes the hotel quieter by being away from the center.

I don't write many reviews, but was so impressed with the Meson Panza Verde that I had to do so.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJFAusTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews