We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”
Review of Soleil La Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Soleil La Antigua
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2006

Well I stayed in the Hotel Villa Antigua around November 2005. We were a group of 21 friends. The hotel had very nice service, it took a while to check in, but its understandable since we were checking into 8 rooms. It was a little far off from the city, but as a group we enjoyed the walk and touring around Antigua. ( Just for you to know we were about 18 years old.)

Let me tip you on something real quick. In all Guatemala there is a law that I think all bars and clubs have to be closed by one. so that was kind of a bum for us. Although they tld us to go to a house party, we were later told that it could be dangerous. ( I also suggest take a cab at night back to the hotel DO NOT WALK, we were told they had mugged a lot of people there. SO BE CAREFUL! So we decided to go back to the hotel and crash in one room and kinda just lay around. Maybe we did too much noise so we were told to shut up. They did it in a very rude manner, but i guess it was good for the other guest since they were trying to keep it quite for them.

To sum up we liked it so much that a group of friends aswell as myself are planning to go there again. So it was not bad at all.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bookie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosRMendizabal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review, for us this is a great opportunity to know what our guest experienced at Soleil La Antigua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Soleil La Antigua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 485 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2006

This hotel is ok, but for the price it is not worth it. The grounds are big and nice, but the rooms are not very nice. The carpet is very old and stained. The location is a little too far from the center of the city. You can find much nicer hotels for the same price closer to the center.
The customer service was very bad. We had lost a book on our bus over and they didn't help us at all to contact anyone. They seemed to really not care much.
We also had a problem with the shuttle. We called the morning of and they told us 12:05. Only they told us the wrong time and when we missed it, they said it wasn't their problem. We had to pay for a transfer by ourselves, even though it was part of our package.
Anyway, the hotel is ok, but really not worth the cash or bad service.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jasosmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosRMendizabal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review, for us this is a great opportunity to know what our guest experienced at Soleil La Antigua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Salvador, El Salvador
14
Reviewed November 4, 2005

I've been there for three days, the room was quite good, the staff and food were good, the service room is slow.

If you go to Antigua to sightseen and not to stay in the hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosRMendizabal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review, for us this is a great opportunity to know what our guest experienced at Soleil La Antigua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2005

I stayed with my wife and parents for three nights in this hotel during April, 2005. We were satisfied with the experience:

Rooms: very comfortable, but they don't have air conditioning and during our stay it was rather warm. It's supposed to be cool most of the year. There is a fireplace in each room, cable TV with a lot of channels (in Spanish and English mostly), a small table with two chairs and a good size bathroom.

The water is not drinkable but the hotel provides a couple of water bottles (500mL) every day.

Hotel: very nice and ample, nice gardens and restaurants, nice pools and playing areas for children. The restaurant is also quite nice.

Food: Very good and good prices too.

Location: not so great. It's about a 10-minute walk from the park and several streets on the way do not have sidewalks, so it may be a bit dangerous. What we did is we took the "tuc-tuc's", which are small taxis, and charged us a couple of US$ to get us to the park and then another $2 back.

Service: excellent service, very friendly staff.

In summary, the hotel is quite modern compared to most of the hotels available in Antigua, which are very old houses with limited services but probably with a better location.

If you don't care getting and paying a taxi to go to and from the town center (a couple of minutes) and you prefer a hotel with more amenities, then I recommend the Villa Antigua.

If you prefer a better location and spending a couple of nights in an old house as part of your experience visiting Antigua, then I suggest another hotel.

If we go back to Antigua, we will probably stay in Villa Antigua Hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Rubik000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosRMendizabal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review, for us this is a great opportunity to know what our guest experienced at Soleil La Antigua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2004

The Villa Antigua was a lovely hotel. Rooms were quite spacious with fireplaces. Food was good and prices not bad. The water is not potable at the hotel but each room receives 2 bottles of pure water each day and they are a fair size. Hotel uses purified water for cooking and drinking. There are beautiful gardens and two good sized swimming pools. I would recommend the Villa Antigua for anyone going to Antigua Guatemala.
The centre of Antigua is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Tours of Guatemala can also be booked from the hotel.

Elizabeth Gordaneer

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank lizgordaneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosRMendizabal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review, for us this is a great opportunity to know what our guest experienced at Soleil La Antigua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: La mía la eligió mi esposa, pero me gustó. En primer nivel
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arguellorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Juan Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceManagerS, Guest Relations Manager at Soleil La Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#4 of 75 in Antigua
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soleil La Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleil La Antigua

Address: Poniente 9th street | Carretera a Ciudad Vieja, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#15 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $105 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soleil La Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soleil La Antigua, colonial style to keep the harmony with one of the most beautiful destination, ANTIGUA GUATEMALA is a treasure chest of customs and traditions and is situated on the base of a volcano, it combines with full service hotel, restaurant, Mayan Thai Spa, gym, gardens, pools, tennis court and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Soleil La Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleil La Antigua Hotel Antigua
Soleil La Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Villa Guatemala
Soleil La Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing