We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place but no free Wifi!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soleil La Antigua

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Soleil La Antigua
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Saint John
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Really nice place but no free Wifi!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Couldn't be nicer
We transferred here from San Jose on the coast and that was nice of them to let us do that.
Pleasant grounds and a good room although we were near the road so nosy until midnight but great view of the volcanos.
Nice deserts and not bad value.
Only real complaint was NO FREE Wifi.... You get it in small restaurants etc We went to the near Cafe Ana which was cute and had wifi. so don't pay for it...
No free Wifi- yet the price seen on our door was $295 a night for a room...greedy owners!!!!
Otherwise no complaints

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road not 413-414 areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heydd55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    164
    72
    24
    23
See reviews for
102
116
21
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The rooms are clean and comfortable enough, the bed was a little hard. Front desk service is not very friendly, info at room says wi-fi costs Q32 ($4 aprox), but when I called to request, they said it costs $7. I was there for Valentine's with my husband, and we decided to pay the special dinner for two, that was the worse part of our trip: the food was bad, the steak was the same for all tables, no cooking gradations, sides were awful and very small, and they offered 1/2 bottle of wine on the ads, but they only gave us 1/4. Location is not the best. I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: i would recommend staying in town, closer to central park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Soleil is a large hotel with beautifully kept grounds, it has two pools and a gym sauna steam room and jacuzzi , the bedroom was big and had a fire place, it can turn chilly and we lit it one evening. There is lots of space and a sitting area.The breakfast which was included was a large buffet with chefs to cook your eggs. The food in the restaurant was excellent. There is a shuttle to take you into the center three times a day, though it is about a 15 minutes walk. There is a high charge for the Internet, and you pay for each device.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, near to the restaurant , there was loud music from the pool durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

for the price it was brilliant value. The hotel is situated in stunning gardens which are very well cared for including two large swimming pools. All members of staff, and especially in the dining room, were wonderfully helpfull. The food in the restuarante is exceptionally good, including the inclusive breakfast. The room was large and very comfortabel. I say "almost perfect" as the only downfall is the hotel charges of the use of its wifi-why spoil perfection.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisintt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Pros:
- It's big & has plenty of space for a meeting or business function.
- Close to Christmas time, the tree in the foyer looks nice.
- It's safer than the other, smaller options in Antigua.
- Comfortable mattress (but lumpy pillows).

Cons:
- The rooms are dusty & you can hear the water running from your neighbors' showers.
- They charge you for everything: each device you need wifi for, each time you want the chimney lit, etc.
- It's near a big road & a 5-10 minute walk to the market, so it's a loud & somewhat dangerous trek into town.
- If you're having an event & tell the people working here to do or not do something, they won't listen. For example, if you explicitly tell them not to enter a conference room for any reason while your event is going on, they'll still come right in & interrupt what you're doing to deliver something, instead of just leaving it outside like you asked.
- They're remodeling the dining area (Feb 2014), so the only food option is the little restaurant & the sandwich place, neither of which is particularly good. With all the options in Antigua, I wouldn't eat here if you can help it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksenia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is really beautiful and the food is delicious. Great for a Family trip with children. The rooms have a fireplace and there's a Kids Club too. The only bad thing is they don't have free wi-fi. The location is not the best but is Ok. It's a good place to stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The property is large and has lovely gardens, tennis courts, two pools and some macaws, but is a bit tired and in need of an update. The carpets in the rooms are old and worn, tiles in the bathroom are cracked and the paint on the pool is peeling off.

The room itself is quite nice and a good size. The bedroom has a large king-sized bed and a working fireplace, which you might need on a cool night. From our room, we had a great view of the volcanoes.

We slept quite well except for the traffic noise on the main road out front of the resort. Also, there is a truck depot almost right next door and the diesel trucks start up very early in the morning. Even though our room faced the back by the tennis courts, it was quite noisy.

It’s only a 10-minute walk to downtown Antigua, but it is on one of the darkest, busiest and most polluted streets in town. Walk quickly!

There is a restaurant and a small café at the resort, but it was almost never open when we were there. It seemed to only open when there was a conference or wedding on.

The other issue we had was the charge for wifi, which we thought was high for Antigua. Why is it that the small inexpensive hotels can all provide free wifi service, but the big expensive ones feel it’s okay to overcharge for the same service?

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the back to escape most of the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
14.4 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#7 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#24 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soleil La Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleil La Antigua

Property: Soleil La Antigua
Address: Poniente 9th street | Carretera a Ciudad Vieja, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#15 Business Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soleil La Antigua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soleil La Antigua, colonial style to keep the harmony with one of the most beautiful destination, ANTIGUA GUATEMALA is a treasure chest of customs and traditions and is situated on the base of a volcano, it combines with full service hotel, restaurant, Mayan Thai Spa, gym, gardens, pools, tennis court and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Soleil La Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleil La Antigua Hotel Antigua
Soleil La Antigua Guatemala
Antigua Villa Guatemala
Soleil La Antigua Hotel Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing