We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great climb and guide”
Review of Pacaya Volcano

Pacaya Volcano
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.98*
and up
Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua
More Info
$17.00*
and up
Pacaya Trek Volcano Round-Trip Transportation from Antigua
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Pacaya Volcano Tour and Hot Springs with Lunch from Guatemala City
Ranked #3 of 83 things to do in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great climb and guide”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went to the volcano with Adrenalina tours. When we got to the mountain, we met our guide. He was very friendly and told us a lot about the volcano and the history of the area. He was very knowledgeable. He was also very patient with older members of our group. When we reached the end of the climb, we were able to roast marshmallow. It was very fun. Great views and very interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,152
    612
    171
    42
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what an experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a great day, hiking on a volcano, feeling the hot steam coming out and what a wonderful view. The guides are so prepared. Packed lunch on a volcano...amazing

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Max C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A hike most can do, a very cool view at top”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The guide Walter was terrific. He took breaks every 5 minutes or so, which was really crucial for our very mixed group. The view at the top was spectacular. We brought lunch and ate at some picnic tables at the top. Also, the little store at the summit has a surprisingly interesting selection of jewelry and a very engaging staff of two gentlemen. A trip worth taking if you're in Guatemala.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdmacme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic hike - active volcano, good guides, spectacular views and horses if you get tired”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Go in the morning as the weather is bound to be better. The agencies in town provide the tours and they will pick you up from your hotel. Wear good shoes and bring some snacks!

The first part is the hardest so don't be discouraged! The views at the top are spectacular.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Norwegiansalmoness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked this half day trip at a place a block from casa santo Domingo in Antigua. We had a really nice driver and a very nice guide. We went right after Holy Week and it was almost empty. I think it being almost empty made it a better experience. It is a hike. We are in our 20s 30s and we had to take breaks going up. It isn't that long of a hike I think total going up, exploring and coming down took us 3 hours. It was great to come back home and tell people that you have been up an active volcano. No we didn't see lava but we did hear volcano activity and that was enough to make the hike worth while. We were able to get great pictures. I recommend you go and do it especially if you have never climbed a volcano before.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank StarArly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacaya Volcano also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Pacaya Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing