We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long strenuous hike, but beautiful view!”
Review of Pacaya Volcano

Pacaya Volcano
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.98*
and up
Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua
Ranked #3 of 82 things to do in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Long strenuous hike, but beautiful view!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A group from my medical mission and I went to the Pacaya volcano in June 2013. The drive there was around 1.5 hours. When we got there, the hike started with bricks and concrete blocks embedded in path, but soon became just a dirt path, and then became a dirt path with a wide crevice in the center. The hike up to the top was between 1-2 hours, all the while men on horses would offer you rides (for a fee, of course).

The hike is quite strenuous, and you should be in moderately good physical condition to attempt the hike to the summit. Bring LOTS of water (at least 1.5 litres). The only place to buy food and water and go to the restrooms is at the beginning of the hike. Otherwise, there are no other facilities.

The hike is definitely worth it, though: the top is beautiful, and seeing the crater with steam coming out of it was amazing. The area is prone to rain, so make sure to bring a poncho!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nvccsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,119
    597
    169
    41
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Greate, easy hike”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We weren't able to go all the way to the top because the volcano was active but still the view from above is awesome. It takes about 30 minutes to get to the top and its not challenging at all, it was very easy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eesliter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hike!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a great time on this hike! Our guide did a great job. He spoke mostly Spanish, but spoke slowly and clearly enough that it was fairly easy to follow along. We didn't see any active lava flows, but it was still an impressive sight. The hike was moderately strenuous, but our guide was good about stopping frequently to let everyone catch up. We didn't initially realize that we would have to pay an additional 50Q to get in the park (beyond the price to take the shuttle there), but overall it was a good value for the experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kellie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great, easy hike!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

As long as it's not a cloudy day, this hike is definitely worth making! It's not that difficult, all the guides are great, and the hike down is especially beautiful and worth seeing with the sunset.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Check the volcano status first”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Hiked Pacaya on the 20th of May. Nice hike, nice scenery, didn't get to see the top of the volcano let alone the lava flow.
Paid 60Q for a shuttle there, organised by our hotel manager, paid 50Q for entrance. The guide was good and so was the guy paid to follow us with the shotgun.

My tip is simply check before booking whether or not you can go up to the summit to see inside a volcano and possibly a lava flow. It was explained to us after we had arrived that for a week or so no one was able to go up to the top.

It's just a hike up a hill otherwise which is still amazing and probably worth it for most but not for me given the other opportunities I have to climb active volcanoes and the dozen or so hikes I've already done, some not all, cheaper and more beautiful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cutthroughtheBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacaya Volcano also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Pacaya Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing