We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Convento Santa Catalina
Ranked #45 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location with charm”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel is everything you want in a destroyed town like Antigua, it has the remnants of the convent with the arc and clock. The rooms are large and furbished with the style of the convent. The hallways have fascinating moments from the convent and an altar, the staff change daily flowers and offering.. It is smack in the middle of the town and walking distance to the cathedral, square, restaurants and atm. It is also next door to Nimpot market. On Friday nights there is an amazing duo singing live at the hotel. We never ate at the hotel because the local restaurants are next door. Breakfast was managed via a small kitchen and gas stove, nothing to write home about but they had a decent range. The staff are very helpful on all fronts from early packed breakfast (6.30am) to changing money, but please do not rely on them for tour/travel advice. There are many helpful tour operators, we learnt with hindsight, who will arrange trips for you be it to Pocaya or Chichi or Iximche.

Room Tip: people did recommend rooms at the back, but they are modern and completely lacking in the charm of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    59
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
39
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
199 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here in March and Antigua was packed. The location can't be beat, right by the Arco, a few blocks from the Merced church and the Plaza Central. The street is a pedestrian mall. We did not have a car; can't comment on parking, but a sign says that it is not available on certain days. Parking is tight in Antigua. Staff is friendly and accomodating. Nice courtyard. Our older Lonely Planet Guide places this in the top category, but it really is not. We were in the rooms in the back, not the convent area. Room was large and clean and had a kitchenette with fridge. Flat screen TV. Lots of hot water. Two thin towels, tiny soap, and shampoo in an envelope. The folding of the edge of the toilet paper roll was the fanciest I have ever seen. The room showed some signs of wear and tear and ceiling leaks that were repaired with tape. Adequate electrical outlets but none near the desk lamp. Very slippery shower stall. Hard beds with two thin pillows apiece. No air conditioning, and the only ventilation was by leaving the door open, which also lets the mosquitos in. Breakfast was OK. They have quite a bit of live music. The bells from the Arco chime from early morning until about seven at night, every quarter hour. A loud evangelical church started up early Sunday morning, as well as a Peruvian street musician. Walls are thin and we could hear the neighbors' TV. All in all, this is an adequate hotel but certainly not top of the line. We bought it as part of a package so I can not comment on the value for money but posted prices from 2012 were very reasonable.

Room Tip: As far from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Convento Santa Catalina, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
The hotel and restaurant is under new ownership and we are in the process of making the hotel much better, which includes upgrading all the rooms. We have installed a new mesh internet system which provides great Wi-Fi signal in all hotel rooms and hotel common areas. The bell at the Arch does ring every hour (not every 15 minutes as stated by this reviewer), but it is not heard in the rooms unless you sleep with your windows open. This bell is part of the historical society of Antigua and not part of the hotel. It is located outside the hotel grounds on Arch Street. Our double room prices are $75 and for quality hotels in Antigua, a double room varies from $50 to over $400, so we are priced very reasonable. We appreciate your reviews and any feedback as we go through this improvement process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel by itself is beautiful, the location is superb but this also comes with a cost. The first problem we encounter was with parking, if you are renting a car or are taking your car to Antigua it would be an inconvenience to stay at this hotel. First of all, they can only give you a parking spot (that is one block from the hotel) but starting at 6:30pm so if you arrive early in the day prepare to find somewhere else to leave your car. Then they told us that we had to take it out from the parking lot early in the morning (7:30am), so sorry if you plan to rest and wake up a little later. I asked if they knew any other place I could leave my car, the first person told me they found one but it would cost me Q150 ($20, that is outrageous) and the next one told me they didn't find any so I had no choice but to leave my car with them.

The rooms are confortable and very big, but there comes the next issue. They called us the day of our arrival saying that due to a water problem they couldn't offer us the room, they found us a room in another hotel but it didn't have the amenities that we reserved for so we refused this option, their only answer was that they didn't have more choices and could refund our money (just to say, we reserved this room 2 months in advance to celebrate valentine's day, what a wonderful way to ruin our plans). After hours of negotiation over the phone, it came a change of shifts and the lady that took our case was totally helpful, I don't know how but she managed to give us a room with all the amenities we asked for, she was very kind and took care of us from then on. Besides all that trouble we found a confortable and clean room. However, it gets very cold at night and even the heater wasn't hot enough, and it gets pretty noisy as there's a restaurant in front of the room, clubs near the hotel, and church bells making noise every half hour.

The breakfast was an excellent buffet that was included in the price (pancakes, cereal, omelets, beans, fruits etc) very complete and great service. The night before we ate dinner at this restaurant and the food was very good at reasonable prices and steps from your room.

Anyway, besides those 2 issues I'd stay another time at this hotel because once checked in the service was very good, the rooms are confortable and the location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juandi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Convento Santa Catalina, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
The hotel and restaurant is under new ownership and we are in the process of making the hotel much better, which includes upgrading all the rooms. We have installed a new mesh internet system which provides great Wi-Fi signal in all hotel rooms and hotel common areas. Most hotels do not offer parking in Antigua due to the lack of available parking, so to offer it 1 block away is really a good thing. We apologize for this customers experience and promise that as the new owner, we will operate a more professional hotel. We appreciate your reviews and any feedback as we go through this improvement process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanton, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have stayed at the hotel twice (with a group of 15) and with Jeanette three times. She and her staff make the difference. I have brought groups and stayed at 7 other hotels over the past few years and this is by far the very best experience (and best price) we have had. It will be hard to find a better property (after all, this is a very old city) but you WILL NOT find a staff as warm and truly caring as this place. Staying with Jeanette is like staying with your favorite sister! We love her and we love the hotel and staff. I will be going back with a group of 14 in Feb. 2014.

Room Tip: We usually book seven or eight rooms and they have all been good. No complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

You can't get more central in this beautiful historic town, or more historic in its own right. An old convent with courtyards and plenty of atmosphere. The staff were great - very helpful with all our requests, even looking up a restaurant online for us and directing us to it. We also requested a boxed breakfast as we were leaving very early - this was no problem and was very tasty. The room was a good size and comfortable beds. The only downside was you need earplugs if you are a light sleeper - the town clock chimes fairly loudly on the quarter hour and Fri/ Sat nights in town do have some local loud music. Still, we liked it very much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojochal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great Location at the Arch. Jeanette met me at reception and the great service continued throughout my stay. My Guestroom was comfortable and located just off the courtyard. The bed was comfortable and the room was equipped with a small space heater for the chilly evenings. It was very convenient to have the restaurant in the same building. The food was good and moderately priced. Prepare to note the passage of time with the bells surrounding the hotel. The Wifi was free and worked well in the lobby only.

Room Tip: If you wish to avoid the noise of the restaurant and fellow guests coming and going (noise travels e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is my 5th place I've stayed in Antigua. By far, this is the most comfortable place I've stayed in for this price! Our beds were very comfortable, rooms were spacious and atmosphere was very pleasant. Hearing the water fountain in the middle of the courtyard was a very nice way to wake up. We only stayed one night as we're just taking a day off from working in Guatemala City and it was one of the few hotels who would rent for just one night so that too is a bonus if you're just passing through.

As others have said, it's very convenient being right under the arch, it's only a few minutes walk to the square. It is a touristy place to stay so be prepared to be haggled by street vendors once you walk out from the hotel entrance but its like that pretty much anywhere. There's a pretty good market right across the street where I've shopped many times and the El Dorado restaurant right across the street is a good place to eat if you want local music and dancing!

Room Tip: Don't remember the room number but it was a double room on the other side of the courtyard from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbass74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#30 of 76 in Antigua
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#43 of 76 in Antigua
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 76 in Antigua
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#44 of 76 in Antigua
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#32 of 76 in Antigua
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 76 in Antigua
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Convento Santa Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convento Santa Catalina

Property: Hotel Convento Santa Catalina
Address: 5 Ave Norte # 28, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Convento Santa Catalina 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Convento Santa Catalina is located under the Arch (the most famous historical site in Antigua) on Arch Street. It is listed as a historical site and convent, and was built in Antigua Guatemala in 1613. Our Hotel keeps the original architecture and the same name. Our Hotel is a historic monument with a colonial environment and all the modern facilities. We provide Hotel, Restaurant and Travel Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Convento Santa Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Santa Catalina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing