We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a visit to a secret garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quinta de las Flores
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Like a visit to a secret garden”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here for two nights during a recent visit to Guatemala. Located a short distance from the center of town, the hotel in contained behind walls. Once you enter the gates, you are in a really lovely garden. The smells were intoxicating, the variety of plants just wonderful, and the view of the volcano was great.
The rooms are well proportioned, beautifully decorated, very clean and and very comfortable. All staff members with whom I interacted were lovely. Breakfasts were generous and varied, and served overlooking the gardens.
There is also a pool, although I thought it was a bit too chilly for a dip when I was there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    45
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
88
81
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

From the friendly shuttle from the airport to the warm welcome at the hotel reception and the beautiful clean room, this boded well. But it was only the morning that revealed the magical landscaped setting, with banks of flowering plants, lawns and stone cisterns spouting streams of water. Everything, dining room, lounge, swimming pool, look out on to these spacious grounds with a dramatic backdrop of looming volcanoes. Some reviewers have considered the fifteen minute stroll to and from the town centre a disadvantage, but we found that it was a necessary spell of exercise after the generous hotel breakfasts and some delicious meals at the many fine restaurants in Antigua. Miguel, Carlos and the staff could not have been more helpful, and we felt quite sad to leave the place. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kch15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were a little hesitant to stay this far from the city center, but as soon as I walked onto the property we were hooked. The people are wonderful and the grounds are gorgeous. We stayed in a garden room with a fireplace and it was lovely, comfy, and tastefully decorated. Pink banana flowers bloomed by the pool, buckets of calla lillies decorated the fountains, and church spires and Volcan de Agua rose above the trees. Breakfast was good too. I can't wait to go back. It's one of the prettiest places I've ever stayed.

My only tip is to be prepared to give tuk-tuk drivers directions because none of them knew where this place was. Tell them what street it's on (Calle de Hermano Pedro) and what church/park it's near (Belen?) and/or be prepared to show them on a map (Ask the front desk for a map) and you will have no problems.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are amazing but in the back of the property. Regular rooms are closer to the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had the family suit which is very comfortable. It has 2 bedrooms, a living room, dinning room a kitchen and 2 toilets. The property is very very nice, the food is good and the service as well. The only minus - it is 15 minutes walk from the city center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank omerdekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
179 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is probably my 5th or 6th time staying at Quinta de las Flores. It's always the first place that I try to reserve any time I'm coming to Antigua. This is the first time I've stayed in a garden room and It's so beautiful! You have your own little private deck looking out onto beautiful, lush grounds. I think they've also upgraded some of the amenities since my last stay -- nicer bath products, more reading material in the rooms about Antigua, and beautiful fresh calla lillies on the tables in the dining room.

If you are headed here first after flying in to Guatemala City, they can arrange private transportation. This is always my preference, especially since I come alone and land after dark. It costs $40 which is a little pricey for Guatemala, but it gives me peace of mind knowing that I will be safely delivered to my hotel after a long day of travel.

Breakfast is not included in the price of the room, but the hotel restaurant has reasonable prices and large portions. For Q50, you can get a Guatemalan breakfast with breads, jam, fruit plate, eggs, beans, white cheese, fried plantains, and a pot of coffee. It's way more than I can ever eat and there is something mesmerizing about sitting in that little cafe drinking coffee and staring out into the garden at the fountains.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have beautiful patios looking out onto the lush gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trailblazer119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Spent three nights there with a friend shortly before Christmas and had a wonderful time. Antigua itself is out of this world, but Quinta de la Flores is also its own little oasis of peace and calm and beauty. For USD 95 per night, we got to stay in garden room 11 and really loved our stay. You need to enjoy walking to stay here but we did walk a lot (day and night) and loved every part of it!
Our room was comfortable and clean with a very good layout: the bathroom area (that has several strategically-placed skylights) encompasses the closet space/room safe, the toilet/shower area and a separate sink/washing basin - all separated from the sleeping/living area with a sliding door. Very handy if you're not travelling as a couple but with friends or family!
The grounds are impeccably kept and stunning. The pool area is perfect - we did try the pool on the last morning and must admit that the water was a little cold, but not too cold to enjoy a swim under a blazing sun. The Internet was consistently good, but getting a good signal from our room was a different story. More often than not, we had to get closer to the reception area to get an adequate signal. Staff is gracious and efficient: we had no hot water on our first morning, less than five minutes after calling reception we had tons of hot water!
The little restaurant is nice and cozy with better options (and better food) for breakfast than for other meals. Note, however, that even if you're a late sleeper, you can have your breakfast in the afternoon if you wish - just ask for the breakfast menu when entering the restaurant. In the evening, we particularly enjoyed their frozen margaritas and chicken quesadillas.
The only real issue with our stay was the use of the fireplace: it might have been a problem that affects only our room, but we had smoke issues when closing the main door. So, unless you don't mind sleeping with the door open to the outside, I would not recommend using the fireplace in the room.
One tip - Don't leave your last minute shopping for the airport: the reception area of the hotel has a nice array of well selected and reasonably priced local ware. Very handy if you prefer to avoid crowded markets.
Thanks to the entire staff for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay here. The beautifully maintained gardens made it a particularly special experience. Our garden room was large, clean & tastefully decorated. The restaurant served simple & tasty food. The staff were always friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.7 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 76 in Antigua
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 76 in Antigua
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 76 in Antigua
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#6 of 76 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 76 in Antigua
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta de las Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta de las Flores

Property: Quinta de las Flores
Address: Calle del Hermano Pedro 6, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Antigua
#5 Family Hotel in Antigua
#12 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta de las Flores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Quinta de las Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta De Las Flores Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing