We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in Antigua!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quinta de las Flores
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in Antigua!”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I have visited Antigua many times and my favorite hotel is Quinta de las Flores. I was there in April for 5 days in one of their corridor rooms. The rooms are nicely decorated and the grounds are beautiful. I ate several meals at the hotel which were delicious. The pool is beautiful too. It's located a few blocks away from the Plaza, but it's an easy walk and I went there every day. This is a great value for the money. I recommend this place to everyone I know heading to Antigua.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trailblazer119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    45
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
88
81
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I visited Guatemala recently and spent 5 very peaceful nights in Quinta de las Flores in Antigua.
A lovely hotel in old restored buildings on the outskirts of the town centre - beautifully furnished rooms, phantastic secluded gardens - and wonderful food! I made an effort to eat out once in a while, but quickly decided that the meals at the Quinta are probably amoung the best cooked food available in Antigua!
The only draw-back is the slightly out of the centre location, which may deter some from venturing into town at night, but I have never felt unsafe on the well-lit road.
Katharina

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copperheadmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My wife and I have been staying annually at the Quinta de las Flores, in Antigua Guatemala, for the past 10+ years since we were fortunate enough to learn about it through word-of-mouth recommendation. It is a former coffee plantation (ca. 1920) that was refurbished and brought up to date in 1992, while at the same time preserving the original charm and Spanish Colonial architecture. The hotel and grounds are gated, and entry is guarded by staff.
The grounds are manicured by a crew of expert gardeners and there is a very large variety of tropical flowers, shrubs, and trees. The gardens are so beautiful that they are often “hired” for unobtrusive photo shoots of wedding couples and “quinceañeras”. The volcano “Agua” occupies the view to the south, and the still active volcano, “Fuego” is visible from the dining room.
There are nineteen cozy accommodations: eight are rooms with comfortable beds (twins or king), most with fireplaces. There are five “casitas”, each a two-storied structure with a master bedroom (king), and a second bedroom (two singles and a small loft bed) and a full bathroom upstairs; downstairs there is a full kitchen, dining room, living room with fireplace, and a small bathroom. Most recently added (2007) there are six newly constructed “garden rooms”, each with King or two Queen beds, full bath, fireplace, and a portal. All facilities are kept immaculately clean, and the staff is excellent. All may be seen on the web site (worth a visit) at: www.quintadelasflores.com .
There is television and a telephone in all rooms; there is also an Internet Room near the reception area, and Wi-Fi is available near the office, and in the dining and Garden Living” (“Mashimón”) rooms.
All casitas and garden rooms have a view of the gardens. A swimming pool and a children’s play area are located at the south end of the garden. There is a detached, covered “Mashimón” room with fireplace for reading and conversation, and a dining room in which a basic breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served.
Located on the Camino Hermano Pedro, the Quinta is a leisurely 15 minute walk to the central plaza. Taxies are readily available and can be called as needed by the hotel.

Room Tip: See the detailed description above. Connecting rooms are not relevant since all are easily accessibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantLaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

After a little haggling, excellent value for money. Superb quality of meals in relation to price. Exquisite rooms with working fireplace. A beautiful and relaxing setting. A must visit hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Hotel is good, very charming and authentic. Rooms are decorated with local artwork, old style furniture. The grounds are gorgeous. However if you stop by other hotels in Antigua, you'll realize it is not unique or even the best by far.

Now the negatives. Hotel has internet only in the lobby, computer room and restaurant. Why is it difficult to spend a couple thousand to cover it with WiFi? There is no safe in the room. There is not a bottle of water even for a fee. There are no glasses! TVs are old and small for the room size. The room had only one hanger for pants, I had to ask for more. The walls are paper thin and if you come there with a new wife, once she hears people breathing in the next room your honeymoon is over. The windows are not exactly sound proof either and are left open by the staff. Gives fresh air, but when you read a sign "For mosquito repellent please contact office, you do not understand why is was so difficult to install simple nets on the windows.

To summarize, the place got lots of character and charm, but it is stuck in the 80s and feels somewhat cheap. On the bright side however, it is cheap ))

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msav2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Quinta de las Flores is the epitome of Antiguan charm. The staff is friendly and helpful, the grounds are picture-perfect, and the rooms are immaculate. With amazing views of the volcanoes, the ancient baths/ruins dotting the grounds, a beautiful pool, and quaint outdoor rooms and restaurant, this resort has something for everyone. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnoMasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

A very relaxing, refreshing stay after 10 days hiking around all the ruins in Guatemala and Honduras. The grounds and gardens are beautiful, very good breakfasts, even had nice dinner. It takes about 10 to 15 minutes to walk into town depending on where your going, but it's a nice walk. Took a taxi back after dark. Stayed 5 days in a Cottage very private and quiet. The people at the desk were very helpful with our questions. Computer room was convenient. The swimming pool is refreshing also. Highly recommend this oasis to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chi-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#8 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#15 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#28 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta de las Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta de las Flores

Property: Quinta de las Flores
Address: Calle del Hermano Pedro 6, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Antigua
#5 Family Hotel in Antigua
#12 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta de las Flores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Quinta de las Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta De Las Flores Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing