We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I was expecting”
Review of Posada Del Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Posada Del Angel
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2006

Sorry, I just dont go along with all the superlatives. We stayed in the Green Room. Llarge, second story, big bath. But.......no fan. Days are hot and opening the windows is just not enough cooling. At night, you cannot open the windows and have the lights on or the bugs come in.

No hook for towels near the shower. No hook for towels near the sink. The bath has a "mirror on a mirror", and I could not see myself in either one.

Breakfast was poor to marginal.

La Quinta de las flores, the suite at Casa Encantada are much better values.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zaxmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 178 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2005

Have recently (the first week in May 2005) returned from a trip to Guatemala where we stayed at the Posada Del Angel in Antigua. Fodor's rates this the best small hotel in Central America and that is an understatement! The hotel is a jewel...behind an unassuming wooden doorway you will find a quiet oasis of tranquility and comfort, beautifully designed to reflect the best of Guatemala: the staff is more than courteous...they are family...the six rooms are decorated in exquisite Guatemalan textiles...all surrounding a tranquil garden/lap pool dripping with ferns and bouganvilla. The Posada del Angel is what we all want and expect when we think of Guatemala...a quaint, quiet hideaway which perfectly reflects the city and its culture. Techinically a B&B, the hotel serves a lovely, full breakfast each morning with fresh fruit, eggs/pancakes, fresh juice, steaming Guatemalan coffee and the staff will makes calls, etc. for ordering out other meals if you are just too tired to make luncheon/dinner plans. We did this very happily on more than one occasion during our week stay.

All our plans and arrangements for going to Tikal, the Sunday market in Chichicastenango and Lake Atitlan were made by the staff with suggestions for the best way to schedule our trips to make the most of our time. And regardless of what questions we had or advice we needed, the staff was completely accomodating and helpful from arranging cars to making plane reservations or suggesting the best restaurants and walking tours. It was as if we had our own private secretary to take care of us.

The hotel is quiet so if you are looking for more activity, the Santo Domingo might be more appealing but if you are making the most of your days in Guatemala, you will be tired and delighted to return to a quiet oasis each evening...and book at dinner at the Santo Domingo just to appreciate how lovely the Posada really is.

I cannot reccommend the hotel enough...they were terrific about e-mailing us to communicate on reservations and travel plans. They made arrangements to meet us at the airport in Guatemala City and welcomed us "home" when we arrived. I don't think our trip would have meant as much had we not been introduced to Guatemala through the Posada del Angel and I cannot imagine staying anywhere else. Lovely people making a lovely place even nicer....what more could you ask?

7  Thank FrancisDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
16
Reviewed May 10, 2005

My husband and i recently returned from our honeymoon in Guatemala and Belize. The Posada de Angle is with outdoubt the most romantic hotel. It is intimate and the staff are attentative. The setting is beautiful.

In fact if you are in doubt about travelling to Guatemala, GO. It was the most rewarding travel experience we ahve ever had. A diverse culture, lovely people, amazing infrastructure and totally beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brooklyn, New York
129
Reviewed January 29, 2005

I am from Guatemala and I have been to Antigua all my life. Never had any trouble until I stayed at Posada Del Angel. Everything was P E R F E C T until somebody walked into my room and robbed my cash. There are no locks on the doors (except from the inside, a hook) and anybody can walk right in and rob your things. The manager would not do anything to help. No apology, no compensation, nothing. Basically he views it as if your lying.
Dont go there, they treat you like royalty at first then wait till your last 2 nights to make their move.

29  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Appleton, WI
112
Reviewed November 13, 2004

We were recently in Antigua, Guatemala, and were very concerned about arriving and not having reservations, especially after one of the reviews we had just read about Posada del Angel. I confirmed all of my reservations personally, made sure I had all of my confirmation numbers confirmed and accurate, and we had no problems whatsoever.

We spent a night at Posada del Angel with our daughter who is in the Peace Corps in Comalapa, Guatemala, and we had one of the most wonderful, enchanting, luxurious evenings and mornings we've ever experienced. We spent the evening on the rooftop under the volcano, listening to the sounds of the All Saints Day procession in the streets. A single candle lit our rooftop table, and a complimentary glass of wine and wonderful discussion made the evening unforgettable as we sat under a clear sky filled with stars.

When we go back to Antigua one day soon, the first place we will book is the Posada del Angel. All you need to do is simply remember to confirm all reservations because each inn has its own confirmation numbering system. It always pays to check everything over, especially since most of these inns are very small. You will be delighted at the service and the gentleness of the staff members. And the management speaks English! It was a dream stay.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
340
Reviewed September 1, 2004

Travelling to a third world country is an experience in and of itself. This "gringo" was extremely disappointed to arrive at The Posada Angel, confirmed reservation in hand, and turned away like no communication had ever occurred. The facility looked lovely but who cares if their business practices are less than honorable. I was referred to Mansion Pensativo down the block ( closer to the central square) where we had a very enjoyable stay.


23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank chatabg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada del Ange... A, Front Office Manager at Posada Del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pensativo House Hotel
Pensativo House Hotel
#12 of 75 in Antigua
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Angel

Address: 4a. Avenida sur # 24A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#10 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $168 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada Del Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada del Angel, pioneer of the boutique hotel concept in Antigua Guatemala, is a colonial inn par excellence. This elegant boutique hotel, winner of the 2007 Andrew Harper hideaway report, is recognized world-wide by its 7 personalized suites (each with a good burning fire place) and high quality/first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Posada Del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Angel Hotel Antigua
Posada Del Angel Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing