We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Posada Del Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Posada Del Angel
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
NRR
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding in March. The location is excellent, as is the service. I had made last minute reservations for 2 nights, and we had to switch rooms, but we really enjoyed both and the personnel moved our belongings for us. We had drinks on the terrace, enjoyed the small pool after a day walking around town. I also arranged for candles and rose petals on our first night, while we were out at dinner. We loved the sheets so much that I asked for brand and was able to buy a set in the US.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nathalieroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    19
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
103
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just visited end of September and very happy with our stay. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. They were able to arrange guided tours that were not just the typical tourist traps. We stayed in the Mary Sue room and could not have asked for a room nicer. Before your dinner, sit by the fireplace and enjoy a Ron Zacapa Centenario 23 on the rocks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence Island
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a beautiful property! We stayed in the Mary Sue suite which has more space than the 'rooms' category. The bathroom and fireplace were both fantastic additions! They even lit the fire for you, if you are city people like us! The roof top terrace has stunning views and the freshly prepared breakfasts are outstanding. Service is attentive and delightful. Response to queiries are professional and they work to find the answers if they don't know it off hand. Close to everything....just a short walk away from every major site. Recommendation? Stay more than one night!

The property is rustic beautiful, not necessarily modern in design. However, amenities were modern and top quality! Old world charm - and authentic antiques all around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingGibsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The room was decorated with Guatemalan textiles and antiques. At night the hallway was lined with candles. The breakfast on the second floor veranda was delicious and the staff couldn't have been more gracious. The view of the surrounding volcanos was beautiful. Close enough to the center of town but quiet and set apart. A wonderful small hotel, a special spot in Antigua.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kath8283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This Inn is pure paradise..photos are exactly how it looks in real life...we didnt want to leave..the staff was amazing , the suite was exquisite , breakfast was first class...wish I could just transplant this hotel in the States.....I think I can agree with other reviewers when they are saying that this is the best B &B world wide...( and we have been to a lot of places) In response to those who think this is not in the center of town - it is absolutely in the center of town ...it is just a few short blocks from the town square - we walked everywhere ...I cant imagine why anyone would want to be any closer to the square ....If you want a classy private escape for grown ups -this is it.

Room Tip: THis is a B&B in an antique town - dont expect your room to have a lot of square footage....some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaykayelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had high expectations before arrival, because of comments from locals and travelers alike. Since the price was a little high for Antigua, I have to say, it didn't exactly meet up to my expectations, so here's the good and bad:

The location is a little out of the way, feels a bit secluded and sketchy late at night. The hotel is beautiful and rustically decorated. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, especially when we had to request a fan for the room (it was extremely hot and muggy). We stayed in the Blue Room, which was nicely decorated, but sits in between the front desk and the sala, so it didn't feel very private, especially when we needed to open the windows for air flow. I also thought it was a bit silly that they would not allow us to use our room for late afternoon check out, even though the room wasn't booked that night. Overall, a very nice, quaint hotel, but not worth the price (especially without A/C).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelathomason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Although the hotel itself is beautifully designed and maintained its location is not ideal as its set a ways off from the centre of the town. In addition, for a hotel that charges 5 star prices, one would anticipate 5 star service and facilities. Service was disjointed at best, no turn down, curtain closing service, and the hotel has no ability to serve meals outside of breakfast.
The rooms themselves have no A/C and although there was a minibar, it was empty.
All of these are minor points in isolation but the sum of it make for an overpriced stay for what is offered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffin257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#11 of 75 in Antigua
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Angel

Property: Posada Del Angel
Address: 4a. Avenida sur # 24A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#10 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada Del Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada del Angel, pioneer of the boutique hotel concept in Antigua Guatemala, is a colonial inn par excellence. This elegant boutique hotel, winner of the 2007 Andrew Harper hideaway report, is recognized world-wide by its 7 personalized suites (each with a good burning fire place) and high quality/first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Posada Del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Angel Hotel Antigua
Posada Del Angel Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing