We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay highly recommend.”
Review of Posada Del Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Del Angel
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay highly recommend.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Quick review:
We can't say enough about this hotel.
We got off a long overnight flight (I was 34 weeks pregnant) and they were so sweet and offered us a room to relax in before ours was ready at 8am. That was a classy move! After a quick nap and an amazing roof top breakfast we enjoyed the city.
The breakfast was amazing!
We stayed in the green room which was beautiful.
We stayed one night here and another at Santo Domingo. I would hands down come back to Posada del Angel. SERVICE...SERVICE... SERVICE and the rooms were great.
Thank you for a great stay!

We also used Elizabeth Bell tour company for many things. They also are a class act. I will review them more on their page.

Go to Hectors for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancinDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    19
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
103
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

With just 7 rooms this boutique hotel has a warm homey feeling. A spectacular architectural achievement with new constructions which looks hundreds of years old. Gracious staff. Delicious hearty breakfast. Rooftop patio overlooking the town. We stayed in the blue room with soaring ceiling. Huge comfortable bed. We enjoyed a fire on a cool night.

Only complaint is that the pool should be heated. I wanted to swim after a long day touring, but it was more of a splash, scream and get out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wwtraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I just returned from a 7 night stay at Posada del Angel. My sister and I were very comfortable, and the staff treated us royally in terms of attentiveness, helpfulness, and courtesy. The hotel is an aesthetic gem - you can imagine what it would be like to live in a gorgeous yet homey colonial house. I could list so many details - fresh roses in our room, a fire in our room's fireplace to warm a cool evening, votive candles that line the walkways at night, Guatemalan textiles beautifully featured in all the rooms, delicious breakfasts (with choices), artwork, landscaping ---just perfect. And the staff - wonderful! They helped arrange our day trips to Chichi and Lake Atitlan with safe drivers and a wonderful, knowledgeable guide. From restaurant suggestions to shopping ideas, they helped us make the best use of our time. In my opinion, staying at this small jewel of a hotel beats a stay at any of the larger colonial hotels in town - they can't touch the level of service we experienced at Posada del Angel. This was my second stay at the hotel, and both visits were exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonikc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I just returned from a 4 night stay at this lovely hotel. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate my group the entire time. I arrived very early in the day and was unable to access my room. The staff provided me breakfast and a place to freshen up. Once the rest of my party arrived, the hotel called me so I wouldn't have to worry about checking in to see if they were there yet. They also helped arrange activities/transportation/meals. The entire experience was amazing. Our room was beautifully decorated and the sheets were quite possibly the softest I've ever slept on. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and plan to stay there again on my next visit to Antigua.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a king size bed. Most of the other rooms are double or queen sized. Room 3 was closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Posada del Angel is a special hotel in a very special city. Behind an unassuming door only a few blocks from the city plaza sits a charming hideaway with just a few rooms and delightful sitting area. Above them is a rooftop garden where breakfast is served in a setting, surrounded by volcanoes, that is hard to match anywhere. In addition to the the terrific facility, the staff, led by Anibal, couldn't be nicer or more helpful. If you are tired of the standard upscale hotel and hotel room and are looking for a unique place to stay with extraordinary charm, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SnowTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a 5 night trip to Guatemala. I have read many of the other reviews and saw that some mentioned it was on the edge of town - yes - but that is very misleading as the "town" is only 16 square blocks! I like that we were located only 3 or 4 blocks away from what could have been a bit noisy (ie a hotel either with or next to a bar). As it was we had the peace and serenity of the hotel (coffee on the rooftop terrace looking at the spectacular views) without the hassles of noise- alot of people etc. When I compare our stay to one at the much larger and well known Casa Santa Domingo (where we dined one night) I was quite happy that we had decided to stay at the Posada - no conference center lit up at night and a very elegant atmosphere which completely succeeded without being the least bit stuffy!

I won't even go into detail about the desk clerk who helped me (in her office) figure out how to print my airline boarding passes, taking over a half hour of her time.

Having said all of that, this is not a place I'd be comfortable bringing my two children. This boutique hotel has the air of quiet elegance and kids running around or splashing in the lovely lap pool would be completely out of place in my opinion.

We stayed in the Mary Sue suite, which I loved as it was at the end of the hallway and very private.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the end of the hallway for maximum privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller48570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Antigua was the first place we stopped on our honeymoon and I'm so glad Posada del Angel was where we were staying. It is a beautiful colonial building set around a courtyard (as are most places in Antigua). There are 6 or 7 bedrooms, we were in the Green Room nearest the front desk. As the rooms were set away from the road outside (not that it was a busy road anyway) we couldn't hear any road noise or passing pedestrians despite being so close to the front. The beds have 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, absolute luxury! Breakfast can be taken in the small dining room or on the beautiful roof terrace (where we ate every morning) which overlooks the volcanoes - nothing better! Rancheros are a must and taste gorgeous, breakfast was always started with fresh fruit and juice though! The staff are lovely, not all staff speak English, but that shouldn't put you off. We don't speak Spanish but we muddled through easily with the few words we did know. There is a pool, but test it before you go in - it was freezing when we were there in December (it's heated by the sun) but I would think it gets much warmer as the year goes on! It is certainly refreshing after a days walking around the town! The hotel is lit by candles at night, stunning! Go up to the terrace at sunset for a relaxing drink. Bliss!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emzypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.6 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Encantada
Casa Encantada
#11 of 75 in Antigua
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Angel

Property: Posada Del Angel
Address: 4a. Avenida sur # 24A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#9 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada Del Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada del Angel, pioneer of the boutique hotel concept in Antigua Guatemala, is a colonial inn par excellence. This elegant boutique hotel, winner of the 2007 Andrew Harper hideaway report, is recognized world-wide by its 7 personalized suites (each with a good burning fire place) and high quality/first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Posada Del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Angel Hotel Antigua
Posada Del Angel Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing