We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Oasis”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Oasis”
Reviewed August 15, 2007

A perfect place to stay in Antigua. 2 blocks from the central plaza, and an easy walk to everything in town. The hotel kindly sent a driver to pick us up at the Guatemala City airport. Behind the large wooden door fronting the street, we entered a lovely garden oasis, with plants, flowers, and haging vines surrounding a central fountain. Our room was clean and had a large, soft king bed, with a simple but very clean bathroom. Thick windows and shutters blocked the street noise outside our window. However, the courtyard outside our door seemed to echo and magnify the sounds of noisy hotel guests outside. Breakfast is included, and is yummy! The hotel is nonetheless a restful retreat after a day of exploring the City. I would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Location location location
  • Disliked — Echoing sounds from the courtyard
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AmieeandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    90
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
63
82
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2007

I was a Peace Corps Volunteer from 84-86 in Guatemala. While my stipend was too low to afford the Aurora as a volunteer, I have always stayed here over the years since my PC experience. It is my favorite hotel in Antigua, and I've stayed at many. Now if there was a way to stop the busses honking their horns at 6 am every morning so you could sleep later!!

  • Liked — Atmosphere and architecture
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbschlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

Stayed here for a few nights in the summer of 2006. Great place. Very friendly people. We had to get up at 5am to make our flight from guatemala city to Tikel and the night staff had a simple bagged breakfast ready for us.

In the evening, the garden is a great spot to kick back on the lounge chairs with a cigar and a bottle of wine.

Will absolutly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank topgun151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

The Aurora is the oldest hotel in Antigua. The spacious rooms (ours accommodated 4 comfortably) are built around a beautiful courtyard with a fountain in the center and shady verandas on all sides. A continental breakfast (fruit plate or fresh-squeezed OJ, toast with butter & jam, tea or coffee) is served on the veranda; for an additional cost, other options are available too. We had 4 children in our group, and this large courtyard was a great, safe place for them to run around (carefully). The staff was very accommodating. The location is excellent, just a few blocks away from Parque Centrale.

  • Liked — The beautiful courtyard
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank soaringhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern lower Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2007

This place was recommended by a friend.
Very pretty-big rooms, good breakfast. No internet as power had been out. Very nice staff.
Would stay at again!

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenwoodsfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2007

Stayed a week for vacation and volunteer work. A+++ Charming small hotel. Square grassy courtyard, bubbling fountain, surrounded by rooms - open air halls with orchids trailing along the edges. In bloom with many varieties of roses, orchids, and other flowers. Previous reviews are right on target. Central location. Rooms were spacious, comfortable, clean, and well maintained. Breakfast was simple and good. Large common room with sofa, chairs, free internet access. Secure - a locked gate.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2006

Conviently located two blocks from the central square, this affordable hotel was a pleasure to stay at. The well maintained central garden is surrounded by large very clean rooms. The tasty breakfast is served outside in this delightful flowered garden. The rooms were well equipped with all the necessities. Staff were friendly and spoke some English. We will definitely stay at the Aurora Hotel on our next visit to Guatemala.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank ChiChiGuelph_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Pasos
Hotel Los Pasos
#13 of 75 in Antigua
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#16 of 75 in Antigua
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: 4a Calle Oriente 16, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Antigua
#17 Family Hotel in Antigua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel, located 3 blocks away from the Central Plaza.Cozy with an affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Aurora Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing