We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at the Aurora a few years ago. We loved the place so much that we had a reservation to return there this month. But due to a family illness, we had to cancel just a week before. The Aurora was very gracious and handled the cancellation well. I am even more convinced this is one of the nicest places - and people - in Antigua. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our family of four loved our room.... 3 beds and a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
analumo, Propietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review, and we are very sorry that you were not able to visit us as planned. We have improved the rooms since your last visit, so we hope to have you as our guests soon. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 261 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

I definitely would return to Hotel Aurora. Clean, Friendly, Comfortable and Excellent location. Loved it. Could go on listing all the positive attributes, but looks like other reviewers did all the work for me!!

Room Tip: The corner suites are very large and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roswatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
analumo, Propietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing us as your Hotel in you visit to Antigua. Looking forward to have you staying with us again. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here in June of 2014. This hotel was really nice and in a good central location. We felt very safe here. The beds were nice and firm with clean linens. The bathroom was a bit small in our room number 17. This room was right by the front desk so it got a bit noisy. The only thing that would have made this room better would have been a fan of some sort. There was no AC in the room, but it did have hot water which was a plus! I would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: toward the back away from the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveleyesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
analumo, Propietario at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review. We hope to have you as our guests in your next trip to Antigua. We have fans available for the rooms upon request. Bests regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was not my first time at the Aurora, I've lost count. It is picture perfect. Entering through the wrought-iron gates, you enter a paradise of flowers around a fountain, and lounges invite to rest and admire. Bougainvillas and other flowering bushes are trained to the level of the overhanging roofs to show their splendor. Tiled patios all around this garden offer sofas, small tables, and chairs to read, write, use your laptop - Wifi throughout - have something to drink, and rest after a day of exploring Antigua.

The location is great for a visit during Semana Santa because it is on the procession route and there are many flowering carpets nearby.

The rooms are large and comfortable, antique, with nice paintings, desk, dresser, lots of light, and pretty cushions and bed spreads. Bathrooms are all new. AND!!! We enjoyed the fresh flowers and the pound of Guatemalan coffee in a Hotel Aurora bag.

And then there's breakfast in the beautiful breakfast room, very Antigua stylish with table cloths, lots of coffee, fruit, bread, cereal, and yoghurt, and a menu to order eggs, beans, and other breakfast items.

There's a little library, and lots of information on things to do in Guatemala. Maps of Antigua are available at the front desk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dagpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I always stay at least once on my trips to Guatemala at Hotel Aurora-- as do many Guatemalans. Prices are reasons land it's a quiet spot given its location on Calle 4-- near the Central Park and Cathedral. Lovely garden for breakfast-- which is included. They also have a parqueo if you have a car.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank herbgunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed in Hotel La Aurora twice during a hectic week in Antigua/Lake Atitlan. It was a pleasure: restful, clean, lovely gardens, good breakfasts, HOT water, in the center of everything. The staff were very accommodating and helpful in making additional travel plans. I've traveled many times to Guatemala, and this is my favorite hotel.

Room Tip: It's an old colonial building, so traffic noise in the town wasn't a problem. But avoid roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suds5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel has one of the most beautiful gardens I've ever seen with all sorts of flowers and plants. There was even a parrot. There are many places to lounge around the hotel and in the courtyard. The hotel is very old and has been updated without losing any of its character. Rooms were big with high ceilings and windows. Bed was huge and so comfortable, I had the best sleep here. We requested for a fan which they brought as the room could get a little stuffy in the day and I didn't feel like opening the window to the street. We stayed in room 18, the sink was outside the toilet and the toilet was a little small. Sometimes when a heavy vehicle drives past, the whole bed seems to shake. No table and sitting chairs in the room but the staff brought us table and chairs when we asked. Wifi worked great all over the hotel.


Staff were really nice and helpful. They called us a shuttle and brought us everything we asked for. Breakfast lacked variety but you could eat as much as you wanted and there were plenty of fresh fruits. Location was right on the main road to the center of town with many shops and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yuninthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#30 of 75 in Antigua
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#42 of 75 in Antigua
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#20 of 75 in Antigua
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta de las Flores
Quinta de las Flores
#16 of 75 in Antigua
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#19 of 75 in Antigua
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: 4a Calle Oriente 16, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Antigua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $87 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel, located 3 blocks away from the Central Plaza.Cozy with an affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Aurora Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing