We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic and Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historic and Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

The Aurora Hotel in Antigua Guatemala is an excellent choice for those looking to get a feel for Spanish courtyards and breakfast on the patio.

Each room opens onto the central courtyard which is lush with flowers, a bubbling fountain, and singing birds. While the room I stayed in was not air-conditioned, the cool clean tiling and mountain breeze of Antigua made for excellent sleeping. The double doors open onto the courtyard, which doesn't make for exceptional privacy, but does however encourage one to share stories with other guests over a delicious cup of Guatemalan coffee or a bottle of wine before bed.

The staff were impeccably friendly and while not all could speak English fluently, communication was never a problem. The complementary breakfast was the best I had during my stay in Guatemala, with a menu to suit the pickiest eaters (a fine breakfast for two would be the fruit plate, juevos rancheros, and french toast). The hotel is only a short walk from Antigua's central plaza. There is secured parking for those with a car.

  • Liked — The courtyard breakfast
  • Disliked — loud talking in the courtyard at night
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ixm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    89
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
62
82
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2007

We stayed here a few years ago and it was wonderful. The highlight of our stay was breakfast in the lovely courtyard garden - a haven of peace and quiet, with beautifully tended flower beds and gurgling fountain. Perfect before setting out to discover the delights of Antigua.

  • Liked — the courtyard garden
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dm75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

My whole family found this colonial hotel to be ideal. It was secure, private, peaceful and friendly. My family felt safer in this hotel than other ones during our stay, especially with our daughters of 11 and 5 years old. It also provided a secure parking lot for our rental car. The entrace is secure, especially because it is not shared with any restaurants like other hotels in the area. We were also glad that many restaurants and attractions started with in the same block and at about 2 block of many other attractions.

  • Liked — colonial style and security
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank emolina22206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

A perfect place to stay in Antigua. 2 blocks from the central plaza, and an easy walk to everything in town. The hotel kindly sent a driver to pick us up at the Guatemala City airport. Behind the large wooden door fronting the street, we entered a lovely garden oasis, with plants, flowers, and haging vines surrounding a central fountain. Our room was clean and had a large, soft king bed, with a simple but very clean bathroom. Thick windows and shutters blocked the street noise outside our window. However, the courtyard outside our door seemed to echo and magnify the sounds of noisy hotel guests outside. Breakfast is included, and is yummy! The hotel is nonetheless a restful retreat after a day of exploring the City. I would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Location location location
  • Disliked — Echoing sounds from the courtyard
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AmieeandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2007

I was a Peace Corps Volunteer from 84-86 in Guatemala. While my stipend was too low to afford the Aurora as a volunteer, I have always stayed here over the years since my PC experience. It is my favorite hotel in Antigua, and I've stayed at many. Now if there was a way to stop the busses honking their horns at 6 am every morning so you could sleep later!!

  • Liked — Atmosphere and architecture
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbschlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2007

Stayed here for a few nights in the summer of 2006. Great place. Very friendly people. We had to get up at 5am to make our flight from guatemala city to Tikel and the night staff had a simple bagged breakfast ready for us.

In the evening, the garden is a great spot to kick back on the lounge chairs with a cigar and a bottle of wine.

Will absolutly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank topgun151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2007

The Aurora is the oldest hotel in Antigua. The spacious rooms (ours accommodated 4 comfortably) are built around a beautiful courtyard with a fountain in the center and shady verandas on all sides. A continental breakfast (fruit plate or fresh-squeezed OJ, toast with butter & jam, tea or coffee) is served on the veranda; for an additional cost, other options are available too. We had 4 children in our group, and this large courtyard was a great, safe place for them to run around (carefully). The staff was very accommodating. The location is excellent, just a few blocks away from Parque Centrale.

  • Liked — The beautiful courtyard
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank soaringhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#15 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#24 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#14 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#9 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: 4a Calle Oriente 16, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Antigua
#17 Family Hotel in Antigua
#20 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel, located 3 blocks away from the Central Plaza.Cozy with an affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Antigua Guatemala
Aurora Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing