We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Everything at the hotel was outstanding. The food, the service and the room exceeded our expectation... Highly recommended for people who enjoy the cities with 400 years of history and calm and clean small cities.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsanchez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 391 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2010

This isn't a Marriot or Westin, but it's even better. Tons of charm in each room. The history of the building is worth finding out, and the grounds are beautiful. Climb to the top level and see a great view of Antigua. The breakfast was delicious, and they had free internet to use.

The location is right in the historic center.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedrothelion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This is a beautiful old hotel in the center of Antigua, just two blocks from the cathedral square (center of town), one block from La Merced and on the street of the "Arc". Service was great. Food was great. I enjoyed the cultural show in the hotel restaurant one night. Only complaint: if you leave the window open, there is a fair amount of light and noise. If you close it- no air circulation. I ended up leaving it open and blocking the light with a suitcase!! I think they should put a curtain or screen of some sort. BTW there was free computer/internet which I appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExPatinNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

The service at Don Rodrigo was perfect from the moment we walked in. All the staff there were fantastic, they couldn't do enough for us. We got an upgraded room as we were on our honeymoon and it was stunning - like nowhere we'd ever seen before. It's so hard to describe, you have to see it to believe it.
We had dinner the first night and there was traditional Guatemalan dancing which we joined in with! The marimba band who play all afternoon and evening are great and give the place a real traditional feel (except they were right outside our room and didn't allow us to have an afternoon snooze!).
A fabulous and really unique experience. Antigua was the most culturally unique place on our trip, and the Don Rodrigo helped make it extremely special.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I love this place, is a lovely hotel, the rooms are awesome, is like been in the past, the breakfast is my favorite with the really good coffe best frut just in front of a beautiful garden, I can´t wait to go back!!!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dilciap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

This hotel is one of my top five in Central America. For Antiqua it's on the expensive side $120 per night for two with Breakfast included but worth every bit.
The rooms are large with antiques and very comfortable beds, extremely clean, private, and quiet. The staff is like none other, always available to help and accommodate (they all speak good English).
The security in the hotel is non-intrusive but well trained. We never had a problem or even saw a problem in Antigua but you do feel well cared for at the hotel.
The restaurant was on the expensive side but quite good. All the food is natural and freshly made.
We stayed here for four nights and at the end of long days it was wonderful to go back to our room.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soleniska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2009

A tourist favorite with 3 vlocanoes surrounding the town; most notable is the water volcano which can be climbed in 2 to 3 hours. Plenty of markets (mercados) and beautiful ancient churches, convents, and hotels.

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank AndecaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
890 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 75 in Antigua
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#6 of 75 in Antigua
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo

Address: 5ta Avenida Norte 17, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Antigua
#21 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $162 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa De Los Leones, today Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo conserves its ambiance that characterizes a colonial and antique home in Guatemala. Restored between 1968 and 1971 Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo is located just 2 blocks from the Central Park and in the heart of La Antigua. Its colonial design and ambiance will take you back in time. The hotel has 41 rooms each one of them wit their own history and uniqueness, will allow you to experience a stay that will be like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Don Rodrigo Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing