We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This place is absolutely gorgeous. the grounds, the rooms....everything is just stunning.

Unfortunately I had a bad nights sleep as my room was near the restaurant. fortunately the restaurant closed fairly early so the noise from that went away, but then there was the kitchen noise-people talking, pots and pans. and then of course the kitchen noise started early again in the morning. and others in outer rooms complained about the noise from the street keeping them up all night. so really you want to get an "inner" room.

but the place is so lovely I really didnt care about a little noise.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wantstogotoguatemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 389 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

Arrived in Antigua after a gruelling flight from the UK to be met by helpful staff, a lovely room complete with antique furniture all set in the most beautiful gardens. The hotel was originally a convent and the majority of rooms are in the cloisters, looking out on to the central square, now filled with trees, flowers and plants. The breakfasts were the best I enjoyed during the whole Llama Travel tour of Guatemala. It is within very easy reach of the town's main square and various churches and gardens. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

After walking the charming streets of colonial Antigua, we arrived at the restaurant at Posada de Don Rodrigo for lunch. Set inside the open piazza of the hotel, we ordered beer and wine while perusing the menu. While glancing at the garden, I noted a woman in traditional garb hand making tortillas............a bit of authenticity to this NJ resident. Ordering traditional, delicious food was just part of the highlight of this experience The staff was congenial yet professional, the furniture appeared to be hand made in traditional, antique design, and the setting is a true gem in charming, delightful Antigua..

We did NOT stay in the hotel but would speculate that the accommodations would be as historically rich as the dining, dining room, and experience was.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cyndybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This lovely hotel is perfectly located on the most beautiful street in colonial Antigua, just steps away from the famous bridge that crosses that streets and frames views of the surrounding churches and volcanoes. Everything about my stay at the hotel was perfect, including the food and service at the excellent restaurant located on its first floor. Location alone would be enough to recommend the hotel, but it earns its five stars by the beauty of the interior courtyards, the spacious rooms, the comfortable beds and bathrooms, and the extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Highest possible recommendation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Spent our 33 wedding anniversary there (Feb 23rd). we have been there before. They have one of the best, if not the best service in the country of Guatemala. the rooms go from very old construction to very modern yet they all portray the architecture that makes Antigua such a charming place. Breakfast was a delight with the view of the Volcan de Agua (the Watter Volcano) so close you feel you can touch it, and food quality to mach. A big Plus is their Coffey, the best in the world.

A magnificent experience that i recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: the new construction is warmer than the old ones, but they all have real wood burning fireplace. any...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happytraveler55-gua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My husband and I were very please with Posada de Don Rodrigo. We arrived in Antigua at 1am and the check in was quick and the brought us to our room on the 1st floor. We didn't like the room, it was not what we had requested, but considering the time of the night and how tired we were we took the room for the night. In the morning we were told to just pack our things and go on with our scheduled activities and they would take care of everything. When we came back, we were directed to our new room that was spectacular!!! They also provided some delicious mini muffins!!
The posada's breakfast, included in our rate, was very nice since it was a la carte and we were able to choose from a large menu.
You can spend a long time getting lost around all the gardens, galleries and the terrace, I believe, has the best view in Antigua. Take time to explore and enjoy all the details, decorations and vegetation!
We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and left to go to Atitlan for 2 days. Unfortunately, they didn't have space for us to stay at their place in Panajachel or spend the last 2 night we had in Antigua.
When we came back to Antigua from Panajachel, I realized I have left a pair of sandals at Posada de Don Rodrigo. I called them, they took my request and the following day they called the hotel I was staying saying that my sandals were there!!! I couldn't believe it!!!
For that reason and all the wonderful interactions we had with the hotel employees, I just love the place. It has one of the best services I've encountered!
I would definitely go back to Posada de Don Rodrigo on my next time in Antigua!

Room Tip: We were in La Posada del Amor Eterno on the ground floor near the restaurant. It was a huge beautifu...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Staff is wonderful and very helpful. Try for a room on the inner court yard away from the street. We slept well and kept our windows an door open to view the cross not the hill at sunrise!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#6 of 75 in Antigua
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#4 of 75 in Antigua
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#18 of 75 in Antigua
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo

Address: 5ta Avenida Norte 17, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Antigua
#21 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $102 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa De Los Leones, today Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo conserves its ambiance that characterizes a colonial and antique home in Guatemala. Restored between 1968 and 1971 Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo is located just 2 blocks from the Central Park and in the heart of La Antigua. Its colonial design and ambiance will take you back in time. The hotel has 41 rooms each one of them wit their own history and uniqueness, will allow you to experience a stay that will be like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Don Rodrigo Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing