We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOWOWOWOW, unbelievable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We stayed few times this year in this hotel and it was such an experience. The people are nice and the service is perfect. It is super clean, cozy and chic. It is also so romantic.... You can have a Jacuzzi in the room. We also had a perfect diner, the chef seems to be very good. The best was the brunch on Sunday. We loved it, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soizou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in December on our honeymoon. Having read so many favourable reviews beforehand we were pretty disappointed with our experience. We stayed in several luxury hotels in Guatemala and Belize and the service at Casa Santo Domingo was far below what we had come to expect. On our first night we were kept awake by a blaring TV and noisy family in the next room - by 6am the next morning the TV was blaring again and the screaming and shouting had started. We phoned reception several times to complain to no avail - about 3 hours later and a lot of pleading on our part we were finally moved. In a hotel of this class you would usually expect that sort of thing so be sorted swiftly and discreetly. Another negative is that the hotel is a tourist attraction and so you never really feel like a "guest" and the hotel lacks intimacy. The rooms are very nice (note thought that they have 2 small UK doubles rather than one Queen or King) and both rooms we were in had a fireplace with wood and kindling supplied which was lovely. Also, the breakfast was amazing. So much choice with a full buffet. On Sunday they have have extra special buffet with local specialities which was fabulous. The meal we had in the evening was gorgeous as well - as a restaurant this place is great, but not as a hotel. Stay elsewhere and come here for brunch or dinner. Despite the poor reception service, the guys who helped with our bags and delivered the wood to the room etc were very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank londongal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

incredibly good place to stay with two archaeological projects on site
big garden, not well seen from out of the street

renovated dominican monastery with suites made inside monks' rooms

has decent restaurants, monekys&parrots, big swimming pools, outdoor jahcoozies and many other decent stuff

book very well in advance to get much better rates

Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
1  Thank nnikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We had an amazingly great stay in this amazing hotel. Only (minor) downsides are that not all the staff speaks English (but this is everywhere in Latin America) and that the menu in the restaurant is more limited than one would expect.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damaAMSTERDAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

This is a beautfiul place, with impeccable rooms and a fantastic restaurant. The service is somewhat impersonal, but the museum and sense of history makes up for that on the whole. We loved our room, the food at breakfast- do have an omelette made for you by the charming omelette chef-, and the ambiance. We desperately needed intenet access which was hard to achieve, and the skype connection kept collapsing. But it is a lovely place to be- and Antigua is a fantastc place to spend time in.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabetteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

What an incredible hotel. The actual hotel is built on a colonial-era convent and retains some of its ancient charm and beauty. The open hallways are lined with beautiful orchids and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable.

The food is excellent at the restaurant and the service, if a little slow, is also top-notch. My sister had some tooth pain while on our trip and the staff at the lobby gave us a recommendation for an excellent dentist minutes from the hotel.

The location is also wonderful, in the heart of beautiful Antigua. This town is really worth staying in. The people are friendly and there are some gorgeous handicrafts you can buy.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophie707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

To potential guests - beware the food.

We checked in for a 2 night stay. The hotel grounds and location are nice enough. The problems began with the staff, which was not particularly helpful during check-in or other interactions. But the real problem began with the dinner the first evening, or rather I should say the night after the dinner. My daughter got violently ill from something she ate. Food poisoning we guessed. The problem was so bad that the next morning we had to check out of the hotel to go see a doctor in Guatamala City.

We talked to the manager the next morning, but she was less than sympathetic and indicated that their policy was to hold us to the two night reservation. She was very adamant about the policy on only allowing a credit for the second night. Apparently, getting violently ill and having to go to a hospital was not reason enough to leave a day early. She said that perhaps in the email we received there was a warning that there was no early check-out.. However, since we booked by phone we never received a confirming email for the reservation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrisGomez, Manager at Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2009

Casa Santo Domingo is a very small hotel with a high occupancy level, this is why our cancellation policy is very strict, we do not oversell our hotel so we can guarantee every reservation to our guests.

We made an exception in this case, discounting the second night in both rooms and the total amount of the dinner. We also offered you medical service, which you did not accept, stating that you had already taken medication.

We have been informed in several occasions by specialists, that the bacteria incubation process takes approximately 48 hours, which leads us to believe that this process was not originated at our hotel, besides, only one of the two persons who had the same chicken dish, got sick.

Our kitchen maintains very high quality standards while handling food, plus has been designed to fulfill the highest sanitation norms; we are in the process of obtaining the H Program Certification. There are 6 cold rooms and 12 freezers in the kitchen that keep the right temperature of all ingredients according to the type, we rotate our “mise en place” every day and supervise carefully our fresh products. Our preparation areas are separated for vegetables, meat, poultry and others.

We are also being audited by a laboratory every two weeks, and the results are kept on a file with access for any customer that wishes to see it. Our kitchen is one of the few “open to the public” kitchens in Guatemala. All our customers are more than welcome make a tour and inspect our kitchens. We are very proud of it and of the food we prepare here, customer satisfaction is our first priority, we know of food poisoning and we work hard every day to prevent this, which is the reason why we know is very hard to get sick by eating at our restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
898 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#7 of 75 in Antigua
422 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#17 of 75 in Antigua
498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo

Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#3 Spa Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $109 - $781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing